rMBP randomly shutting down

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by 11800506, Apr 27, 2013.

1. 11800506 macrumors 65816

Hey everyone -

I'm an architecture student with a 15" retina Macbook Pro (specs: 2.6 i7, 512 SSD, 16GB RAM) that I bought last August (although it was completely replaced in November for a different issue) that has recently been shutting down randomly on its own. Being the way these things go, it's doing this at precisely the worst time of the year with my final reviews this upcoming week, at a time when I need my computer most to finish my project (the school computers are hard to get a hold of and often significantly slower than mine). It's gotten to the point where it'll shut itself down sometimes every minute or so, making it almost completely unusable.

Here's what happens: I'll be in the middle of doing something on it (or now that think about it, I don't even have to be using it) and the standard shut down dialog box will pop up (as seen on the first screenshot below and no, I'm not accidentally pressing the power button). Then, if I don't select cancel, roughly 10 seconds later it will turn itself off. Curiously enough, if I do select the cancel button, it won't shut down on its own, but more often than not the dialog box will just pop again sometimes almost immediately after I cancel it. If I don't get to the cancel button it time, it just shuts down, which is extremely frustrating.