rMBP suddenly stutter free

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by gentlefury, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    Did they release a patch recently or something? My rMBP as of today is experiencing 0 stuttering. It is as fast as one could hope it would be...and that is even under heavy strain.

    Anyone else notice this? I know ML has a BG update feature now. Wonder if something snuck in overnight.
     
  2. Tubamajuba macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #2
    Have you tried rebooting?

    On my 2012 13" MBP, Launchpad has some minor stutters for an unknown amount of time after a reboot. Then it suddenly becomes butter smooth... I don't understand this.
     
  3. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #3
    The only lagging I experience is scrolling through content heavy websites, and when switching through apps (the transitions are choppy). Both of these issues are fixed when I use the dedicated gpu.
     
  4. gentlefury thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    that's what I'm referring to, the stutter when using mission control. Since I got it it has stuttered, less so on discrete, but always.

    Not today tho.

    Actually I just tried switching to integrated and its just as smooth.
     
  5. Drask macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #5
    I find 1920x1200 smooth with both integrated and discrete when I place the dock at the left or right. Give it a try :eek:
     
  6. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #6
    it does not have a background update feature. ML still has to prompt you to actually install new updates. security updates are the only ones that are automatic. so whatever you're noticing now is just a placebo effect because there certainly was no magical fix that was released.
     
  7. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #7
    So the theory is that the 3d dock is pushing it over the edge? Or are you being sarcastic?
     
  8. alyshehata macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #8
    This could actually be true to an extent. Just put my dock on the right and things slightly improved. It's not bad overall though, sometimes it lags sometimes it doesn't. Hope Apple fixes it next release.
     
  9. tninety macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    Banned!
    #9
    I find that it's fastest of all if you put the dock at the top. :D
     
  10. Drask macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #10
    No, I'm not being sarcastic, I have no idea why is that though. at 1400x900 and 1650x1050 I experience no lag whatsoever with Intel's chip. At 1920x1200 switching between desktops is a bit laggy, not intense lag or anything, just at the end of the transition you certainly notice a drop in fps.

    That is until I put my dock to the right or left (gotta be honest, I prefer the dock at the bottom by far) but lags becomes unnoticeable.

    Anyways, this is with Intel's chip, with nvidia's everything is smooth at any resolution at any dock position.
     
  11. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #11
    Nvm, I'm still getting stutters lol. I tried switching dock positioning, didn't really change much. Do you guys think if I do a clean install of ML, the slight lag will go away?
     
  12. RealEyes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    #12
    No.
     
  13. ctbear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #13
    The lag is most noticeable when resizing windows. Scrolling is a bit more tolerable now thanks to ML, but it still lags and I don't think it will ever be eliminated.
     
  14. iLikeTurtles! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #14
    whats an app that can let you manually switch ebwteen chips
     
  15. AZREOSpecialist macrumors 68000

    AZREOSpecialist

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #15
    Your RMBP was probably indexing its Spotlight database after you booted up. This uses up resources and could be what you are experiencing. Once the indexing stops, your computer seems zippier.
     
  16. gentlefury thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #16
    I've had this computer for weeks. It just started going extremely smooth yesterday. There's no way its been indexing that long.
     
  17. Drask macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #17
    GFXCardStatus

    ----------

    Does this happens even in 1650x1050 and 1440x900? I may upload a video later on showing you the difference in my computer.
     
  18. ixodes macrumors 601

    ixodes

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Coast, USA
    #18
    I took my wife's into a genius for evaluation. He deemed it defective and gave me a replacement. The replacement is vastly improved, with no signs of the problem. Now I wonder just what caused the first one to do what it did.
     
  19. markp99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #19
  20. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #20
    Yea tried both - 1050p is slightly less noticeable but I'm still getting slight transition lag. I have good eyesight so maybe that's why I can notice this transition lag - but I'm pretty sure others have experienced this also. It's really not that big of a deal, but it sure is an annoyance!

    Edit - like stated before - changing to discrete graphics totally remedies the issue (but also drains battery life)
     
  21. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #21
    The intel 4000 driver can probably be tweaked for better results. Anything I have noticed (minimal) is the result of running on integrated. But I'm also getting 9 hrs of battery life with light use. So it's fine. :)
     

Share This Page