rMBP Temperature iStat Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Rolanddes, Dec 24, 2014.

  1. Rolanddes, Dec 24, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2014

    Rolanddes macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys.

    I installed iStat Pro widget to monitor my rMBP's cpu temperature. But I do not see any Cpu Core temperature. I used to use temperature monitor when I had my MBP Early 2011 and it showed 2 or 3 of all 4 CPU's temperature readings. I installed temperature monitor in my current rMBP and it did not show more readings than iStat Pro widget. What am I missing?

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #2
    I seem to recall the same thing. However with my last two MBP that is the same readings I would get.
     
  3. Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #3
    Intresting. This means in rMBP's we do not get to see the actual CPU core temperature but the heatsink only. That is not very good.
     
  4. nerowolfe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #4
    Macsfancontrol 1.2.0 beta provides free cpu core and gpu diode monitoring for Yosemite users.
     
  5. Spink10 Suspended

    Spink10

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #5
    Thanks
     
  6. Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #6
    Forgot to mention I use Mavericks.
     
  7. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Putting out the fire with gasoline...
    #7
    If I remember correctly the apps you are using have not been updated for the latest CPU`s, that`s why there is no Core temp etc

    Q-6
     
  8. nerowolfe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    #8
    You bet.

    It runs on Mavericks as well.


     
  9. someoneoutthere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Location:
    The Great Lakes State
    #9
    I have the app itself, and I see everything just fine.
    Attaching a screenshot:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #10
    Yeah it might be. I'll try another app.

    ----------

    I'll give it a try then.

    ----------

    So it might be that I use the widget. I'll try the app instead then.
     
  11. Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #11
    someoneoutthere, I just installed Macs Fan Control. It the exact app that I need. But after the first restart Mavericks asked me to enter my password so that MFC can do some stuff.

    I wonder if this is safe? None of the temperature monitor software I previously used did that. (Other than once while being installed) Do you know what it does?
     
  12. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Putting out the fire with gasoline...
    #12
    Is ok, is needed by the app to run, MFC doesn't communicate outside of checking for updates. You can also try Beta 2 off the MFC forum as plays better with 10.10 if you have.

    Q-6
     
  13. Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #13
    Actually what I am afraid is that it may tweak the fan speed. I do not want to change default fan speed settings. I contacted the MFC forums and they said that it'd prompt for a password everytime I boot until I enter the password :(
     
  14. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Putting out the fire with gasoline...
    #14
    MFC wont override Apple`s software unless you want it too, it`s just an app and can be removed easily, with no lasting effect. All fan control applications I have tried ask the same, so it`s not unusual, some even ask every boot up before starting the app. MFC runs under your user account not Root and had great credibility. Certainly for me it`s never appeared to be suspicious or malevolent and as I work in a mixed environment I run AV and MFC passes overtime.

    Bottom line unless you choose "Sensor Based" or "Constant RPM value" MFC will just monitor temp and fan RPM`s "Auto" using Apple`s cooling plan.

    Q-6
     
  15. Rolanddes, Jan 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2015

    Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #15
    That's great news. Thanks a lot.
     
  16. someoneoutthere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Location:
    The Great Lakes State
    #16
    I have no clue what that Macs Fan Control program is all about.
     
  17. Rolanddes thread starter macrumors member

    Rolanddes

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #17
    Thats because I quoted your post by mistake instead of another member. Sorry.
     

Share This Page