rMBP to MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Maclver, Aug 18, 2015.

  1. Maclver macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #1
    thinking about selling my 2013 Retina MacBook Pro 15". I'm looking for something more portable, I mainly use Internet, music, movies, school work.

    Has anyone made this switch and liked it or regretted it?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    I've got an 11" Mba and a 13" mb still along side my 2015 mb and the weight savings alone are a massive gain.

    For what your demanding from it you'll have no issues.
     
  3. professional445 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
  4. Maclver thread starter macrumors 68020

    Maclver

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Location:
    36°07′53″N 95°56′14″W
    #4
    I just wonder how much of a shock the screen size difference will be
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    Do you not have a local Apple Store, Best Buy or other electrical retailer to go have a hands on?
     
  6. jmikhail490 macrumors regular

    jmikhail490

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Location:
    Northern NJ
  7. Silverbird0000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #7
    I have a 2013 rMBP 15" and just recently got a rMB. I opted for the 1.2 with 512gb. The rMBP had 512gb, and while I still have it for task such as encoding, playing graphics intense games, ect.., I may sell it. I almost never use it anymore since I prefer to use the rMB. The screen size has not really affected me, since I used the rMBP plugged into a 27" Cinema Display most of the time, so I just feel like i'm on a big iPad. I needed something more portable for school, and lugging the 15" rMBP around was not easy. Taking the rMB with me every day is not any more difficult than an iPad, yet far more useful. I love it! I'm just waiting on HUB+ to release their dock for the rMB so I can hook it up to the Cinema Display, then I will really have few uses left for the rMBP.
     
  8. professional445 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    #8
    is your rMP good for graphis intense games??
     
  9. Silverbird0000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #9
    The only thing I tried was Sims 3. It was playable, but rotating the world had some hesitation, and it had issues rendering the distant neighborhood through the window of my Sims house. I'm going to try and see how SimCity 4 runs on it. I think that will be more of an issue. With Sims 3 I had to put the graphics on low - medium for it to be playable. On the rMBP all graphics are on high or ultra high.
     

Share This Page