rMBP use non-Retina resolution

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by caoap1, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. caoap1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #1
    Does anyone know if rMBP can use non-retina resolution as the cMBP has? If so, does anyone know if the battery will last longer use lower resolution?
     
  2. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    You cannot change the resolution of the display within Mac OS, as it will always run at the displays native resolution. You can change the DPI scaling somewhat though, to make it appear different, but the resolution is the same.

    The battery is not likely to be affected severely by resolution.

    If you are having battery life issues, consider reducing screen brightness, reducing keyboard backlight (or disabling it if you don't need it), and not leaving CPU or GPU intensive applications open in the background.

    What kind of battery life are you getting?
     
  3. Ccrew, Jan 21, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2013

    Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #3
    Umm, not really correct unless you're referring to doing it natively with no third party support. Retina Display Menu https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/id549083868?mt=12, Quickres http://www.quickresapp.com/ or SwitchResX http://www.madrau.com/indexSRX4.html will allow you to dial it pretty much at will.
     
  4. Pentad macrumors 6502a

    Pentad

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Location:
    Indiana
    #4
    :eek:


    Sure you can. I run at 1680x1050 and 1920x1200 (from time to time when I need more room). However, you are not stuck at the puny retina display of 1440 x 900 (though it does look nice).

    -P
     
  5. Ploki macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #5
    actually 1680*1050 and 1920*1200 will take more battery as they actually work at HiDPI, meaning you need to push even more pixels.

    probably because the GPU will work less hard, but you still have 2880*1800 pixels to power physically regardless.
    I recommend Retina Display Menu; its free and works flawlessly.
     

Share This Page