rMBP + vmware fusion + resolution change

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Langley, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. Langley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #1
    Hey,
    I'm running vmware fusion and WinXP on my rMBP and it keeps randomly switching resolution up to 2880x1800 from the 1440x900.
    Any idea how this could be fixed or so? Is it better under win7?

    ty
     
  2. celitrd2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #2
    I'm running Win7 in VMWare fusion and it runs fine.

     
  3. titanflyer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    #3
    Mine is doing the same thing with Win7 VM Fusion... I have found if I set the res in OSx to 1440, then back to 1680 or whatever I have it at, it stick on the VM as well... definitely a bug of some kind in my mind.
     
  4. celitrd2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #4
    After you launch a Windows session in Fusion, just toggle the full screen control on the right corner and fusion will auto adjust the resolution your vm session to match the current mac resolution.

     
  5. xtrem macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #5
    the same setup as OP, WinXP + rMBP + full screen mode. Fusion keeps changing resolution, but I want it to keep the one I've set in WinXP. Impossible to work in 5120x3200...
     
  6. jono b macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    #6
    Vmware fusion cannot be used with retina display on MBPRO at this point without your windows displaying a ridiculous resolution that cannot be read without a magnifying glass. Even if you reset the resolution in Windows it still defaults next time you start up to the unreadable. I notice Parallels has a retina display driver but fusion does not seem to be interested. Perhaps bootcamp or parallels is the way of the future
     
  7. stevelam macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #7
    Parallels isn't retina friendly either.
     

Share This Page