rMBP vs MBA for student

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mtjensen22, Jul 30, 2012.

1. mtjensen22 macrumors newbie

So I'm starting university in the Fall and am looking to upgrade from my mid 2009 MBP. I've been torn between these the 13" MBA maxed out or getting at 2.6 Ghz rMBP with 16Gb. I'm majoring in Comp Sci so I'll be using it for programming and the usual school stuff, but I'm also really into gaming. I just don't want to buy a MBA and not be able to play at least some games...I've never used integrated graphics so I'm not too confident in their ability.

Any help or input would be greatly appreciated!

2. w00t951 macrumors 68000

w00t951

If you're "really into gaming" and don't want another gaming PC, you should probably look into the Pro. The integrated cards are absolutely horrible at running modern titles.

3. mtjensen22 thread starter macrumors newbie

Well I have a gaming PC that I built up a bit ago (which is what I tend to play PC games on).

4. Mabyboi macrumors 6502

Mabyboi

I have a nice big powerful gaming pc set up for the uber games, but I'm getting a RetinaBook as well, mostly for my game art and design schooling but also for some medium to heavy gaming. Honestly, I wouldn't get an air for gaming... 15" pro or RetinaBook, as we know the screen is a bit more for the NVIDIA card to handle but they have over locked it a bit to compensate

5. killjoy07 macrumors newbie

Yes, like others said, with an MBA I wouldn't try playing games.

If you're in a flexible situation, you can go with a laptop+desktop route...but I guess that's a topic for another thread :D

6. mtjensen22 thread starter macrumors newbie

Honestly I'm not sure how much gaming I would be doing on it, I game occasionally on my current MBP, but I have always left the heavy gaming to my desktop PC. Plus if I don't like the Air I could return it I suppose.

7. Mabyboi macrumors 6502

Mabyboi

Don't get the air If youre thinking of ANY gaming. MBP 15" or rMBP.