rmbp vs mba

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tenganis, Nov 16, 2013.

1. tenganis, Nov 16, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

tenganis macrumors member

Hello,

I am new with posting here and would love your help with my dilemma! I know there are many threads of this type but I would love your advice in deciding which macbook to buy (I'd like to keep it 3-4 years). In all cases, I will be buying a 1TB external hard drive (to store videos- see below).

- refurbished 13 inch MBA 4gb/128gb for $929 - such a good price!
    - MBA 8gb/128gb for $1139 w/ student discount- 8gb RAM is more future-proof
    - base RMBP (4gb/128gb) for $1199 with student discount - love the retina display!

I am a grad student and will be using the computer to write papers, have lots of PDF documents +MS word+ MS office+ refworks all open at the same time, watch Netflix, and for light video editing for my dissertation (I won't be editing much but I will be needing to burn lots of DVDs/transfer lots of videos to the external hard drive). I currently have a 2009 White Macbook with 2gb RAM and 160 memory, and I hate the lag when scrolling through PDF documents with other programs open. My gf has a 2010 Imac with 4gb RAM. Burning videos on her IMac goes pretty well, although I find that the process could go smoother.

I'd love to get the mid RMBP (8gb/256gb) but it is a bit more expensive than I can afford, and it might be too much for what I need?

I love the idea of getting a retina screen, but like the price of the refurbished MBA. The lack of lag is also really important to me and I heard the 13'' RMBP has lag.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :).

2. hawon macrumors member

go with MBA. It should be more than adequate to do all you want to do. MBA's battery life is amazing.

3. tenganis, Nov 16, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

tenganis thread starter macrumors member