rMBP vs. MBP for Musicians

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by thetotster, Jul 10, 2013.

1. thetotster macrumors newbie

Hey, guys! I'm a newbie... I'm a Surface RT owner planning on moving to a MacBook Pro sometime in the next 9 months. I'm also a keyboardist (amateur) hoping to get more involved in the music creation/editing field and some graphic design here and there.

Anyway, I have a strong desire to purchase the 13” rMBP due to its beautiful screen, SSD, 8 gigs of RAM, and the lighter/thinner hardware. I’m also looking at the regular MBP with a 750 gig HDD, 8 gigs of RAM, and the i7 processor.

So, for those who are actively involved in the music editing/creation process, which would serve me better? The i7 with the HDD or the i5 with the SSD? I’m under the assumption that the i7 on a plain MBP would be better for the job. I adore the rMBP’s display, so I’d love to have one, but not if it would be a worse performer.

Thanks!

2. ddany macrumors member

I can't compare the 2 because I have never used az rMBP. I just wanna say, no matter which you buy, make sure, you get SSD!!!
    I had HDD in my MBP, last summer i put 128gb SSD in it, and like a new 3x faster computer.
    Btw, I'm playing guitar, thourgh garage band, and the MBP is just fine. (mid-2010)

Good luck

3. scbond macrumors 6502

I know you said a bit of graphic design here and there but as a musician you really don't need the Retina display. If you did graphic design for a living then I would say you could make use of the Retina display but only as a luxury in my opinion.

4. fratey macrumors regular

An SSS will speed things up massively. Adding that to the classic MBP makes the price quite close - and I'm sure the difference is worth it for the better, thinner body and a screen with four times the resolution.

Using a DAW is quite hard at 1280x800, and the retina allows you to use up to 1680x1050 virtually.

5. vpro macrumors 65816

vpro

I'm a recording artist and visual artist.