rMBP vs MBP vs MBA for graphic designer

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hexoic, Aug 29, 2013.

1. Hexoic, Aug 29, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2013

Hexoic macrumors newbie

Hello everyone,

I'd love to get your advice on upgrading my laptop.

Currently I have a mid 2010 13" MBP 2.4 GHz with a 500GB drive and 8GB of RAM.

It's a great machine and I haven't felt the upgrade itch till now. The CPU is starting to have trouble keeping up, things are not snappy, and sometimes when I close the lid, I discover the next morning that it wasn't in sleep at all. Stuff like that is sorta cropping up here and there.

Trouble is, I'm a graphic designer, and I make a lot of graphics for the web. I've heard the retina screen is a nightmare if you want to design for non-retina screens, so, I guess my options are as follows:

- Stick an SSD in my current device to give it a speed boost and use it for another year or so. Only, will the good old Intel Core 2 Duo be up to it?

- Get a rMBP but also an external monitor (I don't like this because designing on the road or just on the sofa is going to be out :( )

- Get a rMBP because actually you can set the resolution so that you can simulate a non-retina screen pretty well (I'm told that this isn't possible and that it just isn't up to what a designer needs, but maybe I've just been reading in the wrong places)

- Get a MBA. I've always discounted this option because I assumed that the MBA was a neat little machine for writers or maybe someone who just wants to read email, browse and look at a few photos, nothing more. But now that it comes with 512GB SSD and 8GB RAM and intel corei5 or even corei7 (I think?).. is this still the case? how would it perform compared to my current machine?