rme babyface (audio interface)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by axisD, Apr 2, 2013.

1. axisD macrumors newbie

hey everyone, got my 2012 imac a few months ago and its my first experience with any Mac, so I'm still learning the ins and the outs with it.

I got an emergency babyface interface, and I plugged it into a USB port, but I don't know what to do next. it has power going to it, but I'm used to PCs where you plug in a USB device and it automatically recognizes it and starts installing drivers. I'm also used to using "device manager", but I don't really know the equivalent for that on the Mac. I checked under "utility ", but didn't see my device in there. I appreciate any help, thanks!

2. firedept macrumors 603

firedept

Maybe this will help. http://www.rme-audio.de/forum/viewtopic.php?id=13704

3. axisD thread starter macrumors newbie

interesting, ill have to try that out when I get home. so the device should have showed up in the utility section on the imac? I dont even know what was supposed to happen when I plugged it in.

4. firedept macrumors 603

firedept

Something else you can try.

Does it show up in Disk Utility? Does it show as mounted in Disk Utility? There is a MOUNT button in the toolbar of Disk Utility. If it shows UNMOUNT, then it should be connected.

Have you checked Finder > Preferences > General > Show these items on the Desktop and Finder > Preferences > Sidebar > Devices?

5. axisD thread starter macrumors newbie

ok I just checked all of that, and no it wasn't showing up. I also tried resetting and unplugging everything, and it didn't show up then either. The interface came with a driver installation cd, but naturally, these new imacs dont have a disk drive, would maybe downloading the drivers from the site get it to work? I guess i'll give that a shot.

6. axisD thread starter macrumors newbie

so....anyone else here have any tips. Has anyone with an imac owned a babyface?

7. ematsuno macrumors newbie