RME Fireface 400 or Octave II - Differences?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by gvdv, Dec 2, 2007.

1. gvdv macrumors regular

Hi,
    I've been fooling around with multitracking for the past 25 years, having tracked on Tascam 4 track cassette based units, a Sony minidisc 8 track, a 'stand alone' DAW, and various reel-to-reel machines.

Now I'm moving into computer based digital audio, and there are a few things that I still don't understand (not necessarily only related to digital audio/computer multitracking).

Having bought my mac pro, and wanting an audio interface, I had thought that I was going to go with an RME Fireface 400 (firewire). However, now I see that RME has an 8 input unit out called the Octave II (that's 2).

I'm having a bit of a problem understanding the difference between the units other than the Octave II has more mic/line inputs than the Fireface 400 and appears to not be firewire.

If this is the case, and the Octave II is neither firewire nor USB, then how do the inputs get into a computer DAW? Perhaps, as one description I read seemed to imply, the Octave II 'just' provides mic./line inputs and needs to have its outputs connected to a firewire or usb based device in order to get the signal into a computer.

If anyone can enlighten me about the difference between the two units, and the Octave II's function, I would be most grateful.

Also, is the Fireface 400 superior hands down, or does the Octave II have something to recommend it beyond the extra number of inputs in comparison to the Fireface 400?

Many thanks,
    GVDV

2. Tarkovsky macrumors 6502

Tarkovsky

Ok, if I'm patronising you I apologise, I'm guessing you're a far better engineer than I am, but I just want to make sure you understand everything here.