Roaming doesnt work

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by xsofiixx, Jul 25, 2017.

Tags:
  1. xsofiixx macrumors newbie

    xsofiixx

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    #1
    Hey guys

    My roaming doesnt work and I dont know why. I went to the store before I came to Austria so they would activate roaming and do everything on my phone so it will work.
    They did. It doesnt work. Surprise.

    Yes, mobile data and roaming is turnt on in the settings.

    Theoretical, what needs to be done to enable roaming?

    Glad for all tips, thanks in advance
     
  2. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #2
    Have you spoken to your carrier? If may have been blocked by your carrier.
     
  3. xsofiixx thread starter macrumors newbie

    xsofiixx

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    #3
    Yes I did. Its not blocked.
     
  4. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #4
    How about restarting the phone or trying the SIM card in another phone?
     
  5. xsofiixx thread starter macrumors newbie

    xsofiixx

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    #5
    restarting didnt work. I'll try with my mums phone! thanks for the idea
     
  6. xsofiixx thread starter macrumors newbie

    xsofiixx

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    #6
    I should add that i am talking about internet. calls and messages work but the internet doesnt.
     
  7. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    Yes, I understand. Any luck with the sim in another phone?
     
  8. xsofiixx thread starter macrumors newbie

    xsofiixx

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
  9. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #9
    Hmm, sounds like it has something to do with the roaming carrier or the original carrier.
     
  10. xsofiixx thread starter macrumors newbie

    xsofiixx

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    #10
    whats a roaming carrier resp. original carrier?
    --- Post Merged, Jul 25, 2017 ---
    i called support and they said they would send instructions per email in a few minutes. That was hours ago, of course. Maybe tomorrow.
     
  11. Audit13 macrumors 6502a

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #11
    The roaming carrier would be the carrier in Austria and the original carrier would be the carrier that issued the sim card.
     
  12. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #12
    You might need to change the network settings under Mobile Data → Mobile Data Options → Mobile Data Network. Normally these settings are applied automatically by the carrier you are using, but it does not always work. Try resetting them by scrolling to the bottom and tapping "Reset Settings" there. If it does not work, then you need to search for the settings of your roaming provider.

    If you have an older version of iOS, you have to make sure that ‘EU Internet’ is not enabled.
     
  13. xsofiixx thread starter macrumors newbie

    xsofiixx

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    #13
    that makes sense thanks!

    I did. I tried to search for the settings but i am not really getting them, at least not for ios and trying the ones i found didnt work. same with resetting, it didnt work.
    I hoped to get these infos from the company but they fail to send me an email. so i guess i gotta ask again.

    This is so annoying, i went to their shop to make sure it will work and thats what you get. I send an request via email and i recieve an answer...in romanian...when my request was in english as i dont speak romanian. i mean come on wtf.

    Anyway thanks for the help guys. ill keep trying.
     

Share This Page