Rock Band 2 Vs. Guitar Hero World Tour

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by fiercetiger224, Oct 27, 2008.

1. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

I noticed no one has created a thread for either Rock Band 2 or Guitar Hero World Tour. So I'm makin' one. :D

So, who has what? I managed to pick up the PS3 versions of Rock Band 2 (just the game) and the Guitar Hero World Tour Band Kit (complete with drumset, mic, and guitar).

First, Rock Band 2. I have to say, RB2 just does EVERYTHING better. It's more realistic and more streamlined. And I'm glad they made the "Expert" difficulty on the guitar more like the first couple of GH games, which Harmonix did make, so it makes sense. RB1 was a little bit on the easy side for the guitar. But it's finally been addressed! And the menus and overall presentation is awesome.

Now on to GHWT. I was kind of disappointed when I started playing. I hated how GH3 had very loose timings on stuff (meaning you can still get a note in if you missed it by like 50 millisecs or something like that), so I wasn't sure if Neversoft would have addressed that issue. But they didn't, and it just doesn't feel as realistic as it should be. The song list is also disappointing as well. It has some RB2 songs here and there, but the variety isn't as vast as RB2. It does have some Tool though. RB2 has more genres, especially more indie stuff. And don't get me started on failing songs. If ONE person fails, all fail. No saving a person. Nada. Anyway, presentation-wise very disappointing. Songs are difficult to navigate, and art direction is terrible in comparison to RB2, let alone RB1. Now onto positives. The instruments do shine compared to the RB2 kit. The drumset is very nice and quiet. Guitar feels very solid, and has a nice and large strum and whammy bar. And really, the only positive IS the instruments. It's actually the reason why I got it, and GHWT as a bonus.