Rocketraid series For External Drives

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by slughead, Jan 26, 2009.

1. slughead macrumors 68040

slughead

I did a computing job after being retired for many months, and I got paid in hard drives.

I am thinking of buying a rocketraid 2314 and making a RAID-5
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816115036

However, I also want to plug in my SATA DVD burner to the card at the same time. is that possible? A RAID set and a DVD burner on the same controller?

I've never done anything above a RAID-0 before so ANY info would be appreciated, especially having to do with this particular model (others are out of my price range! :)

2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

why would you put the DVD burner on the RAID controller?

connect it to the ODD SATA port on the motherboard.

3. slughead thread starter macrumors 68040

slughead

well presumably, if I can do that with a DVD drive, I could take the occasional hard drive and plug it in there too--Sort of like a portable hard drive bay.

Also, all my drive bays in my Mac Pro are full.

4. slughead thread starter macrumors 68040

slughead

any info at all on highpoint would be great, guys

5. nanofrog macrumors G4

It's just a 4 port eSATA controller with software RAID from what I can tell.

Take a look at newegg's customer reviews. (Didn't look too wonderful). :(

If you want to go this route, you might want to look at either Sonnet or Nitro AV's offerings.

6. slughead thread starter macrumors 68040

slughead

I thought software RAID used the computer's CPU. Are you saying this doesn't provide its own processing? I've never heard of a software RAID 5

7. slughead thread starter macrumors 68040

slughead

A lot of the mac reviews were by people who didn't know what they were doing, or were using way different/old hardware like PPC. (the PPC driver sucks, apparently).