rogers iphone 3gs will i have to get data plan for it ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iphone-3gs, Jun 20, 2009.

1. iphone-3gs macrumors newbie

Yesterday i was really happy and went to the rogers store to get my iphone 3gs and they said they had to add 30$ more for data plan when i only needed voice plan so that would be my voice plan (30$) and 6gb data (30$) = 60$ so i left the store unhappy went to other rogers stores they all said the same thing because for the iphone 3g you did not have to get data plan when will this happend for the iphone 3gs at rogers i only need a voice plan no data plan. Thankzz

2. HarrisonB macrumors 6502

What's the point of having an iPhone and no data plan?

3. iphone-3gs thread starter macrumors newbie

I'm a high school student and we have wifi every where.

4. milani macrumors 68000

milani

I'm pretty sure that the subsidy is dependent on you buying a data plan. Theoretically you could cancel the plan, but then you're probably subject to the ETF. Your best bet is to talk to someone from Rogers. I really don't know what they will say. I will say though, wi-fi is not as ubiquitous as you might think. I think you would really regret not having a data plan.

5. iphone-3gs thread starter macrumors newbie

I wish they kept it like last year your choice of data plan or not. thankzz tho

6. milani macrumors 68000

milani

If it used to be that way last year than it probably hasn't changed. When I bought my phone on Rogers I never even considered not getting a data plan so I did not look into it. You should really call Rogers - and please post up what they say to help the next guy out.

Something to consider, though. For a limited time (until mid July I think) Rogers brought back the 6GB for $60 a month data plan. It's definitely worth getting onto if you can afford it - I think the regular plan is now 1GB for the same price.

7. iphone-3gs thread starter macrumors newbie