Rogers/Telus/Bell IPhone Data

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gangsta77, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. gangsta77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #1
    do u have to get a data plan, cause i dont really need one?

    all i need it for is just calling people
     
  2. Kevlar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Great White North
    #2
    Yes, all three require you to sign a data plan. That partially covers the subsidized price.
     
  3. abz786 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #3
    yeah, you need data to qualify for the lower price
    no data = pay more for the device
    simple
    no data also = pay per use!
     
  4. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    You have to get a data plan, but you have an option.. unfortunately, it will cost you some money.

    Sign the contract with the iPhone, pay $199/$299 respectively for one the devices.

    Then call one of them and cancel data. Rogers/Fido it costs $100 to cancel it, not sure about Bell/Telus (although it's probably the same thing).

    This is your only option unfortunately because the reps at the stores have no control over this, no matter how much you kick and scream. So if you want no data, just suck it up and pay the $100 now instead of paying an extra $30/month for data that you won't be using for the next 3 years.

    Reps on the phone, on the other hand, do have control over your account (about 99% control I'd say, as they can do absolutely anything), however... being a new customer (I'm assuming since you've asked about the big 3) they won't do much to help.

    Oh, and be sure to block all data on your phone!
     
  5. gangsta77 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #5
    cant i just use wifi, cause i have wifi at my house

    and whats the cheapest data plan i thinks its $20 from telus not sure about bell though
     
  6. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #6
    You know, all three companies have websites that spell out the fine print.

    Keep in mind too that without a data plan, they charge RIDICULOUS fees for data transfers (paid by the KILOBYTE!) so if you do accidentally enable data (or a friend unwittingly does so) you can expect a HUGE bill.
     
  7. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #7
    Yes you can, but they want that extra money from you so they force you to get data.
     
  8. boxstboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #8
    If you just want a phone and wifi usage, get a cheap-as* cellphone and an ipod touch and save hundreds and hundreds of dollars over a 3 year rogers contract. Iphones aren't cheap regardless of how you do it. Or buy a used unlocked iphone on ebay.
     
  9. janhuggies macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    #9
    Rogers Phone yes. Text yes. Data no.

    I got my wife's insanely cheap rogers phone plan transferred to an iphone (purchased from a friend used). Told rogers to block data just in case. She now has phone, text, wifi data (home and all the other free places). Makes for a great setup (<$35 a month) instead of the ridiculous iphone packages rogers offers. If I am with her and she can't access wireless and needs to check her email/etc., I simply take my iphone SIM card (with 6G data plan) in her phone for a few minutes.
     
  10. abz786 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #10
    Remember to carry your toothpick/sim removal tool! :p :D

     

Share This Page