Rollercoaster Tycoon 3 on Macbook Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by jumper2295, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. jumper2295 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #1
    Will Rollercoaster Tycoon 3 Platinum run well on my MacBook Air? It's the 2013 13" 1.3GHz Intel core i5 with 4GB memory. Is anyone else here running the game on an Air?
    Thanks. :)
     
  2. na1577 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #2
    I have the 2012 Air i5/4GB. I'm not sure how much performance differs between versions, but it runs fine on my Air in Windows 7. Parks with a lot of scenery stutter a bit but it's still playable. Nighttime frame rates really scrape the bottom of the performance barrel though. This is with medium to high settings across the board.
     
  3. Anitramane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
  4. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #4

    Works this way on my PC.
     
  5. Kissaragi macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #5
    Youll probably even be able to max out the settings on it
     
  6. jumper2295 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #6
    I might purchase it then.. The only reason I was asking is because the requirements say that you need 2.0 GHz CPU speed and my Air only has 1.3 GHz.
     
  7. WillFisher macrumors 6502

    WillFisher

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #7
    I run it totally fine on my 2013 13" i5

    Kicks the fan in at medium/high settings and gets warm, but still runs totally fine!
     
  8. na1577 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #8
    Comparing different processors by their clock speed is an apples to oranges comparison. The system requirement for RCT3 is a 2.2 Ghz Core 2 Duo. The i5 processors are much newer and better, so a 1.3 Ghz i5 processor is much faster than the 2.2 Ghz Core 2 Duo that the game requires. You shouldn't have to worry about poor performance.
     

Share This Page