Rollercoaster Tycoon 3/Soaked Graphics Problems

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by BPMCH02, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. BPMCH02 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    I have a new iMac (alumn 24in) and I recently installed my favorite game (RCT3) only to find that in sandbox mode the game is literally unplayable due to graphical issues. I was wondering if anyone else has seen this and if anyone knows of a fix. I have tried to contact Aspyr but all they say is that they are aware of the issue and do not support any of their games currently on the new iMacs.....HELP!!!
     
  2. lisamcdee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #2
    Sorry, I have no solutions for you, I just wanted to express my sympathy. Many Aspyr games are unplayable on the new iMacs. The problem is the video card and I have no idea if a fix is in the works or not. When I contacted Aspyr about this 6 weeks ago, they told me they were working with Apple on a solution, but I read on another board that someone had been told that Aspyr did not see a resolution to the problem in the immediate future. Very disappointing.
     
  3. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #3
    Did you apply the Universal Binary patch to RCT3 ?
     
  4. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    Soaked is universal, and ya... I have the same problem.
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #5

    Damn, must be the new imacs. Thankfully seems to work perfect on my SR MBP 8400 Nivdia GPU.
     
  6. houseoftwits macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Too close to DC
    #6
    Better later than never?

    I don't know if you're still having an issue, but for what it's worth, I also had HUGE problems with RCT3 from the minute I installed the game. It was slow to begin with but once I put in about 15 rides, it would 'stutter' and eventually just freeze up.

    So, I quit the game and restarted. From the game's main menu, I went into Options and dialed back most of the GUI settings. Once my park loaded, I immediately went into the 'View' options and toggled off the ride supports; that helped a BUNCH.

    I just bought & installed 'Soaked' and before playing, I double-checked the GUI settings and dialed back the water refraction, etc. The game is back to 'normal' and I'm very pleased - it's actually running quite fast. I moved to an iMac from a very strong PC and the iMac's game play is now equal to my old machine.

    Dial back your GUI settings and get 'Soaked.' I installed RCT3 only about 2 months ago and just got Soaked, so I missed the original RCT3 patch. Thus, I can't say if that patch would resolve your problems or not - but cutting down on the GUI display helped tremendously.

    I hope this helps - or that you found resolution in the meantime! :)

    Now we need Aspire to include the Forbidden Tomb scenery in Soaked (!) AND to release the Wild! expansion.
     

Share This Page