Rollercoaster Tycoon on new 13 Macbook Pro and Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Smoke Bomb, May 3, 2011.

  1. Smoke Bomb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #1
    Hi everyone. Just bought my first Mac (entry level Macbook Pro 13" Sandy Bridge i5) 2 months ago and love it. My gf bought her first Mac 4 months ago (Macbook Air 13" base model) and we're both wondering how Rollercoaster Tycoon 3: Platinum Edition will run on our computers.

    I've always been a console gamer, so pardon my ignorance on the subject of computer gaming. I know neither of our Macs are gaming powerhouses, but considering the age of the game, though it might run well on newer machines. Here are the specs:

    Mine:

    13-inch: 2.3 GHz

    * 2.3GHz dual-core
    Intel Core i5
    * 4GB 1333MHz
    * 320GB 5400-rpm1
    * Intel HD Graphics 3000

    Hers:

    13-inch : 128GB

    * 1.86GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor
    * 2GB memory
    * 128GB flash storage1
    * NVIDIA GeForce 320M graphics

    Thanks for helping a noob computer gamer out. :D
     
  2. Ladybug macrumors 65816

    Ladybug

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
  3. Smoke Bomb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #3
  4. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #4
    Both of the computers will kill RollerCoaster Tycoon. Don't worry, mainly when power becomes an issue is Flight Simulators and FPS games. The Pro is much stronger, if you want a Macbook Air, wait for the refresh should be in the next couple of months and will be truly worth it.
     
  5. JoeG4 macrumors 68030

    JoeG4

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    #5
    RCT 3 is ANCIENT. Don't worry, it'll run - in fact I think you might have issues running it on W7 because it's so old.

    Oh 2004. Wow I thought it was older than that lol. Still, 7 years was quite a ways back hehe. I used to be addicted to Roller Coaster Tycoon (that is, the original one) - sooo many hours of entertainment. I can still remember all of the music lol.
     
  6. Macsavvytech macrumors 6502a

    Macsavvytech

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    #6
    I think the OP meant the Mac version, which is probably quite new.
     
  7. ScottNWDW macrumors 65816

    ScottNWDW

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #7
    I have had no issues running Roller Coater Tycoon 3 Platinum on my 2011 13" MacBook Pro.

    I still prefer RCT or RCT 2 over the version 3 though.
     

Share This Page