OS X Rome II now on Steam for Mac!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Dirtyharry50, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #1
    Total War Rome II Emperor Edition is now available as a Steamplay title on Steam. I was looking to see any indication if Feral ported this but nothing about them was noted on the Steam store page. Also the game isn't on the Mac App Store that I could see as of now.

    This is from the news page on Steam:

    The Total War: ROME II - Emperor Edition is upon us. The definitive version of ROME II is now available for PC and Mac via SteamPlay at your trusted retailer. If you’re an existing owner of ROME II and have automatic updates enabled, Steam will update the game to the Emperor Edition for free.

    Alongside all previously released updates and free content it comes with significant improvements to the politics system and civil war mechanic, an overhaul of the building chains, extensive rebalancing of the campaign as well as land and naval battles, an improved UI, tweaked and improved graphics and more. Full patch notes can be found on the wiki:
    http://wiki.totalwar.com

    Finally the Emperor Edition includes Armenia as a new playable faction in the Grand Campaign as well as in the Imperator August campaign, our largest campaign pack for ROME II to date, which throws you in the chaos of the Roman Civil War that saw the Roman Republic fall and the Roman Empire rise, with Augustus as its sole leader. Which side will you take?
    You can find more information about the Campaign on the official Total War Wiki.
     
  2. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
  3. MichalM.Mac macrumors regular

    MichalM.Mac

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    #3
    Has anyone tested performance and multiplayer yet?
     
  4. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #4
    Cool, but did they actually ever fix the game yet?
     
  5. Dirtyharry50 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #5
    It's had many updates since launch and I read some positive comments from players about the game in its current state on the Steam forum for the game. I also noted just now over 17,000 people are playing at the moment so that is probably a good sign as well.
     
  6. pedromcm.pm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #6
    The only problem that I have is that Apple (rightly so) chooses smoothness, battery life and great form factors over GPU Raw power.

    As such, I doubt that the vast (90%+) number of Mac users could enjoy this game. Its unfortunate, I guess it's time for Apple to invest on their own solutions.
     
  7. Dirtyharry50 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #7
    The minimum requirements for the game:

    Operating System: OS X 10.7.5
    • Processor: 1.7 GHz Intel Core i5
    • RAM: 4 GB RAM
    • Hard Drive: 25 GB
    • Video Card: 512 MB AMD Radeon HD 4850, NVidia GeForce 640 or Intel HD 4000
    • Screen Resolution: 1024x768.

    The recommended requirements for the game:

    Operating System: OS X 10.7.5 (or later)
    • Processor: 2nd Generation Intel Core i5 (or greater)
    • RAM: 8 GB RAM
    • Hard Drive: 25 GB
    • Video Card: 1 GB NVidia 750 (or better)
    • Screen Resolution: 1920x1080.

    So this can be run on a broad range of Macs with settings adjustments as needed. Not everyone by any means requires ultra everything all the time to enjoy playing games.
     
  8. pedromcm.pm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #8
    The vast majority of Mac users (and high end PC buyers too) have devices with integrated graphics.

    Most of them are unsupported. Should we buy a game this expensive just to have to tweak it and use the lowest of the lowest settings?
     
  9. Dirtyharry50 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #9
    Do what you like. The HD4000 and up is supported for integrated graphics. Is this ideal? No. It isn't on the PC side either. You can buy Macs that are fine for gaming with decent GPUs. Whether you choose to do so or not is up to you.
     
  10. mabaker macrumors 65816

    mabaker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #10
    For a moment I thought it was the classic Rome available for Mac. The second instalment is one hot of a mess.
     
  11. pedromcm.pm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    #11
    Rome Total War is available for Mac since forever.
     
  12. Solomani macrumors 68030

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #12
    Mac version not ported by Feral. Requires Steam. Two strikes. Meh. Pass.
     
  13. Dirtyharry50 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #13
    I've read the game was in bad shape at launch but after very many patches (I think they are up to around 20) the game is reported to be decent now by people on the Steam forum.

    Personally, I like Steam so that wouldn't be a strike against it for me. I generally prefer to buy there anyway.

    I would have liked to see it ported by Feral too. However, the fact that it wasn't doesn't really indicate what level of quality this port is. That remains to be seen. I'll be looking for reviews and user feedback on that myself to get a sense of how well it was or was not done.
     
  14. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #14
    This Mac "Port" is a mess. It constantly crashes, so bad it reboots my Mac Pro as it hangs the system.

    I get about 19FPS in the forest benchmark for 30 seconds before crashing again. At only medium graphics quality.

    It's also only registering 2GB of my 6GB graphics memory in the options. I didn't find any wrappers WINE, or Cider digging through the files, but even so this game is in shambles for performance and playability on my Mac.

    I haven't been able to even play yet, and it's been two days.

    Compare this to Shogun 2 that I simply maxed out on all settings, and that plays amazingly well. Feral did a great job on that. I don't know what Creative Assembly did for the ROME 2 Mac version.
     
  15. old-mac-man macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #15
    I too am having trouble with the Mac version of Rome II. Specifically it seems to be seeing only 512MB of the 4096MB of graphical memory I have available.

    As the Mac version came free (I already have the Steam PC version), I'm not too worried at the moment as I expect this will be patched. What is notable, it seems to me, is that another developer thinks it is worthwhile to release a Mac version of its titles.
     
  16. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #16
    I agree, but it's showing a lot of signs of a wrapper, such as incorrect memory detection and loading.

    I do hope they patch it an awful lot, but as it stands given the games performance it can't be recommended to many mac users.
     
  17. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Rome II is still kinda sucky compared to the first. I haven't been on it in a while but last time I played the AI was still downright appalling.

    And don't even get me started on how it was on release.
     
  18. N19h7m4r3, Sep 28, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2014

    N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #18
    They're already working on Total War Atilla,while ROME 2 still needs a lot of work. I certainly hope they patch the hell out of the mac version.

    A friend reports that even with a GTX 780m 4GB it's only reporting 512MB of VRAM, and he can't select anything over Low graphics setting as well. Due to the game only detecting 512MB.

    I made a little first impression video of the game, detailing and showing the issues of it.
    it has potential, and I think Feral would have done a much better job.

     
  19. Solomani, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2014

    Solomani macrumors 68030

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #19
    It's on the Mac App Store as of today, October 2.

    MAS version was also the SEGA port. IMHO, in the MAS app description, it gives no specific hardware requirements…. which is criminally misleading. I predict many 1-star reviews, and an equal number of "I want my money back! This game does not work on my 3-year old Macbook-blah-blah!! Waaaahhhhh!"
     
  20. Dirtyharry50 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #20
    It's sorry news to hear of issues with the Mac version. It's too bad they didn't go with the pros and get it done right by Feral.

    I hope they will followup with a patch to correct this stuff.
     
  21. N19h7m4r3 macrumors 65816

    N19h7m4r3

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    #21
    We can hope. Compared to Shogun 2, this game is a mess. I'm glad I got to try it during that free weekend on Steam. Saved me spending €55.
     
  22. Am I Tuna? macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    #22
    I have, it's good!

    http://steamcommunity.com/groups/twriimm

    Here's a new steam group for any players looking for some mp with other mac users. :)
     
  23. gødspeed macrumors regular

    gødspeed

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #23
    I get the sense reading this thread that the Mac version of Rome II is to be avoided. How about running the PC version through bootcamp? I'm on a 2013 rMBP 2.6ghz, 750m, 16gb RAM. I should be able to run it on high, right?

    Besides graphical enhancements, is it a better game than the original Rome: TW?
     
  24. MichalM.Mac macrumors regular

    MichalM.Mac

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    #24
    Is multiplayer Mac <-> Mac only or this groups is only for community purposes?
     
  25. Am I Tuna? macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    #25

    Yeah, it's for Mac to Mac only. It's only the total war games that I know do this, but we can't play against pc players because of a few different things in the games code or something like that. As there are quite a few less mac players than pc it's hard to get a game because you don't know when a mac player is online. So this group just got created 2-3 days ago and we've already got 21 members and getting regular mp battles going. Otherwise it's really annoying trying to get a battle online and the servers are completely dead
     

Share This Page