Rome: Total War thread again XD

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by TheGingerNinja, Aug 22, 2011.

  1. TheGingerNinja macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #1
    Hey all, I am using Windows 7 on a mbp high end 15" 2011, and I seem to get shocking performance for rome even when using low settings which surely cannot be right!
    Am wondering if there is anything I can do to boost performance, and am wondering if the Mac version of Rome would perform any better... thanks! :p
     
  2. PatrickCocoa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #2
    My experiences:

    I've run Rome: total war on a 2007 17" iMac under Windows XP - it ran great. I ran it on a 2009 21.5" iMac under OS X and it ran fine.

    Your setup should work, but maybe not - I'm not sure if Windows 7 has some problem with RTW, or the MBP doesn't have a good graphics card, or if there's something in the setup to RTW that you can fix.

    Good luck! Ave!
     
  3. TheGingerNinja thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #3
    Graphics card should be fine, as I can run Shogun: Total war on pretty much high...
    I think it might be a problem with windows 7 :/
    Just curious if i would get better performance from the mac version is all couse atm, i get like 15 fps on low settings in windows 7 with only 2 half full armies :p
     
  4. negativzero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #4
    I'm playing the Mac version purchased from the AppStore, it runs brilliantly on my 2011 15 inch :)
     
  5. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #5
    Mac Rome will run with high settings on your laptop if it is the high end 15" model. In fact Rome even runs on PPC Mac's so you should be fine :)

    Edwin
     
  6. TheGingerNinja thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #6
    Ordered the Mac version, thanks for the info! :)
     

Share This Page