Rooting your Nexus 5 Instructions (Mac and Windows Instructions)

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Lloydbm41, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. Lloydbm41, Nov 4, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013

    Lloydbm41 macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #1
    For those technically inclined and don't need or want a toolkit, this is the best option. Worked perfect for me running a Windows 8.1 machine:

    Link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2507905

    For those not so technically inclined and want root, these are your options (I have not used any of these except the last one by WugFresh on my Nexus 4):

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2508817
    or
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2509428
    or
    WugFresh Toolkit (arguably the best for all things Nexus) is about to put out the latest version to include the Nexus 5 (which will be version 1.7.4) the link to this toolkit is: http://www.wugfresh.com/

    FOR MAC USERS:

    ** Remember, this will void your warranty and should only be done after reading lots of material on the XDA forums. That said, it is really, really difficult to brick your phone, unless you try to install a modem or ROM not intended for your device. Otherwise, it is extremely safe.
     
  2. appledes7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #2
    Thanks! This will surely come in handy when I (hopefully) get mine tomorrow!
     
  3. AAPLinc, Nov 4, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013

    AAPLinc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #3
    WugFresh toolkit worked for my Nexus 7 perfectly. Literally the easiest most straight forward thing I've ever used.
     
  4. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #4
    I highly recommend the first option, as long as you have a windows machine. I'm not a fan of using Toolkits to unlock the bootloader and root devices. Using ADB is always a better option IMO.
     
  5. appledes7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #5
    I did the manual root method for my Nexus 4 and it was fairly simple. And this looks to be nearly the exact same process so I'll likely do that. And ya I've got a Windows machine to do this on.
     
  6. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #6
    You're good to go then. Just make sure you reboot the phone after you unlock the bootloader - "fastboot reboot"
     
  7. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #7
    Curious, why did you qualify your statement with the part I bolded? Working with ADB in OS X/Linux is the same as Windows -- only difference comes from the way you add the sdk tools to the PATH (which you don't even need to do if you keep them in the directory you're working from).
     
  8. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #8
    Because I have no idea if it works the same on OSX. I can only verify for windows.
     
  9. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #9
    Fair enough. Didn't mean to come off snobby or anything, just thought you might have had some other agenda.
     
  10. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #10
    No agenda what so ever. I do all of my Android stuff from my Windows desktop and all Mac and iOS stuff from my iMac. I just find it easier that way and don't mix the two.

    And I didn't take your comments as snobby. I would rather clarify and ensure people have correct info, so if I was wrong about something, it is fixed. :)
     
  11. Oletros macrumors 603

    Oletros

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Location:
    Premià de Mar
    #11
    I think that doing adb work on OS X or Linux is easier than doing it on Windows.

    I prefer to do all the work on my Macbook Air
     
  12. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #12
    Never used a Mac for anything other than jailbreaking iPhones. Have always used Windows to root Android. Just easier for me, although I am sure I could figure it out on OSX. It's good to know that if I ever need to, I can use my iMac. Cheers.
     
  13. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #13
    I intend to use Chainfire's Nexus 5 script here (main page - look for the Nexus 5 link near the bottom), probably today.

    Remember, for those new to this, that it will wipe your phone because unlocking it does so, so be prepared.

    Assuming the script works - and his stuff is very good - I'll (a) donate a few bucks for his effort, and (b) report back (again, maybe today, maybe within a few days).
     
  14. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #14
    I'm all rooted and unlocked now! I couldn't stand having ads in apps, that was one of the first things I took care of.
     
  15. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #15
    Which method(s) did you use?
     
  16. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #16
  17. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #17
    Thanks! I'm debating whether or not to wait a bit. I got burned rooting the 2013 N7 too early; I don't want that to happen to my precious.
     
  18. jsw, Nov 5, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013

    jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #18
    Ok, done. Here's the process I followed on my Mac. Again, this will erase your phone's data and revert it to the way it came out of the box (except unlocked and rooted). Note: while I don't think it's needed for these scripts, you might need to download and setup the Android SDK first. As it's already installed on my Mac, I can't be sure if it is or is not needed.

    • Download the Nexus 5 zip from here (or go via the link I posted above).
    • Unzip it and go to that folder in Terminal. Easiest way is to open Terminal, type "cd", and drag the unzipped folder onto Terminal to have the path show up, then hit return. The command will look something like
      Code:
      cd /Users/yourname/Downloads/CF-Auto-Root-hammerhead-hammerhead-nexus5 
    • Type
      Code:
      chmod +x *.sh
      and hit return. This just ensures the script is executable.
    • Put the N5 into fastboot: power it off, then power it on by holding the Volume Up, Volume Down, and Power buttons simultaneously. I hold them until I see the Android guy, but maybe you don't need to do so for that long. In any event, you'll soon see the fastboot screen. No need to do anything except plug the phone into your Mac via USB at this point.
    • Run the script with
      Code:
      ./root-mac.sh
      and enter your password.
    • Wait while it does its thang. You'll eventually see the phone reboot, but it takes a few minutes.
    • Profit. Oh, and re-setup your phone.
     
  19. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
  20. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #20
    Any time! I rooted my N4's on my work Windows machine the first few times because I was unaware of how to do so on a Mac, but, at least lately, it's become a pretty easy thing to do.
     
  21. Stooby Mcdoobie macrumors 6502a

    Stooby Mcdoobie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    #21
    Chainfire usually includes the adb and fastboot executables in the zip with his scripts, but the SDK is still great to have if you're interested in tinkering.

    On a side note, does this script flash a custom recovery or does it just root the device? I've already rooted and flashed TWRP but may use this in the future.
     
  22. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #22
    It just roots it, which is actually fine by me - I prefer this route until I'm sure the device is fully functional and doesn't need to be returned. I do generally flash TWRP, but I'm actually happy I didn't in this case.
     

Share This Page