Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

aonarch

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 10, 2011
Hey guys I run bootcamp on my Mac just for gaming. I was running a Superantispyware scan while in safemode on windows just as a precaution, when it found a trojan, not just a trojan but a rootkit. I was kind of concerned... Yes it is windows, it probably came from some download like a 3rd party driver or a Skyrim mod. Then when I check out the file extension I was shocked it is on my E drive, which is Mac OSX Lion. I am an IT professional and I deal with viruses all the time. I am confused though on how this got onto my MBP. Maybe it came from a flash drive. What I do not understand is this; a rootkit has to be designed for a specific OS correct? If that is true then this in fact is a Mac OSX virus.

429389_2801941563873_1118580052_31986612_750880522_n.jpg

Phil A.

Moderator emeritus
Apr 2, 2006
Shropshire, UK
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B179 Safari/7534.48.3)

It looks like a false positive to me - they are just system log files (actually smart query files used by the console)

aonarch

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 10, 2011
Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B179 Safari/7534.48.3)

It looks like a false positive to me - they are just system log files (actually smart query files used by the console)

Ok I kind of wondered if that were the case, especially since they were date stamped for today.

MisterMe

macrumors G4
Jul 17, 2002
USA
Hey guys I run bootcamp on my Mac just for gaming. I was running a Superantispyware scan while in safemode on windows just as a precaution, ...