rotate between 5 websites every 30 seconds?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Julianqwe, May 24, 2011.

  1. Julianqwe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #1
    Hi,
    I'm looking for something simple that, on at a time, can show 5 different websites every 30 seconds.

    Does anyone know anything I can use?

    It must be running on a macmini connected to flat screen.

    Thanks in advance Julian
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    You might be able to do this with an Applescript, but in general there is nothing that enables this.
     
  3. Julianqwe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #3
    Thank you for your reply!
    I'm afraid I don't know how you make an applescript.
    Is that something you do in automator?

    Does anyone know if it is possible to make it in html?
     
  4. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #4
    Try this in AppleScript Editor :

    Code:
    set url1 to "http://www.google.com/"
    set url2 to "http://www.apple.com/"
    set url3 to "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page"
    
    repeat
    	tell application "Safari"
    		open location url1
    		delay 5
    		open location url2
    		delay 5
    		open location url3
    		delay 5
    	end tell
    end repeat
    Just add your own URL's and change the delay to whatever suits.
     
  5. Julianqwe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #5
    Wauv this is just what I wanted!!

    But I have one thing left to wish for.

    Is it possible to make the new website load in the same safari window? :)
    Now it opens a new window for every website.

    Thank you so much!
     
  6. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

    Jolly Jimmy

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #6
    Add a section to open each URL first. Put it just before the repeat.

    Code:
    tell application "Safari"
    	open location url1
    	tell window 1
    		set current tab to (make new tab with properties {URL:url2})
    		set current tab to (make new tab with properties {URL:url3})
    	end tell
    end tell
     
  7. Julianqwe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #7
    Thanks allot! Just tried it and it worked really great!!!

    However does anyone now why I can't quit the program that I have made with applescript?

    I can't use cmd + Q ?
     
  8. Julianqwe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #8
    Oh found it on google.

    You have to press cmd + .

    Thanks Jimmy and Miles for your help :)
     

Share This Page