Rotate displays broken ?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by unclegit, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. unclegit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #1
    Having issues with my 2 portrait mode displays - click on 90 degree rotation and you get a black screen. They both work fine in landscape mode - anyone else suffering this ?

    The 2 rotated displays are driven by my 8800GT that came with my 3.1 mac pro.
     
  2. unclegit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #2
    Just completed a fresh install just in case it was some cruft left over from my Lion install and it's still borked - found a few other people referencing it on the apple support forums - so it appears it may be a bug at this time.

    Which sucks :rolleyes:
     
  3. hehejames macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #3


    I have the same problem on my 3.1 with dual 8800GT.

    The interesting thing is that I can have 2 out of the 4 monitors working in portrait mode, while the 3rd and 4th have the black screen (but do see my mouse curser).

    First... I did an upgrade from 10.7 to 10.8 thinking that perhaps the video driver getting messed up, but same result with a clean 10.8 install.

    That said... MP 3,1 with 10.8 is only working with 2 in portrait and 2 in landscape mode to use all 4 displays.

    :mad::mad::mad:
     
  4. hehejames macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    I see more people having the same problems. It appears that GT120's are affected by the problem as well.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4137268?start=0&tstart=0
     
  5. unclegit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #5
    I'm actually the graemefromportland poster on that thread :p

    I'll try switching slots for the cards tonight to see if that helps since I don't need to rotate the primary 570GTX display.

    Are the 2 that are not working on your system connected to the same video card and if so what slot is it in ?
     
  6. unclegit, Jul 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012

    unclegit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #6
    Switched slots and still have the problem.

    *shrug* Bug.

    Probably one that'll take more than a while to resolve since apple has clearly abandoned the mac pro and the pro market space. Once they get facebook integration completed I'm sure they'll get around to it :p
     
  7. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #7
    I had that on on Mac Mini 3.1; was running in portrait on an EIZO screen via DVI.

    ML download passed and restart took place -> black screen but moving mouse. :eek:

    Tried to rotate the screen back but no change. I tried recover mode but no change. finally I hooked my ACD 24" on the mini display port and voila: the graphic card accepted it now in landscape and continued the installation at least.

    When I'm back home I will try what happen with portrait. :(
     

Share This Page