Router Help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by labyrinthworm, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. labyrinthworm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #1
    So, my internet cuts out a lot, so our internet company is sending us a new modem (both router and modem are 3+ years old), and I was thinking of picking up a new router as well (can't hurt!), and was going to switch to N, but I was reading somewhere else in the forums that if you have ANY G devices connecting to the modem, then it will reduce the speeds to G instead of N. I don't think I could really prohibit this as my roommate uses the wireless as well (and is on a G Card) -- so would this be completely ineffective and worthless to get since she is on this connection as well?

    If not, can anyone suggest a good router? I currently have a 2.4GHz Linksys, so anything better than that really would be a big help, and it'd be great to have an N Router (also if having this is useless because my roommate connects to it, i heard some people set up two routers - how is this done?). I'm pretty good with computers, but not so much with networks, any help is appreciated!
     
  2. dubhe macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #2
    Splash out and by a Time Capsule, it is worth the extra expense :D
     
  3. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #3
    I have the Airport Extreme Base Station and I love it. You can either do wireless N only or make it compatible with wireless G (which is how I have it set up at home). It's so easy to use and I've never had any problems with it in the year I've had it. I also have an external hard drive connected to it so I can access it from any computer in my house.
     
  4. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #4
    I have 2 Linksys WRT54GL and run OpenWRT on them. You can expand your range by using WDS, although for every router that extends the range, you effectively halve your bandwidth. I eventually ran wire between the two routers, but it worked well both ways.
     
  5. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    Keep your old router and set up a separate g-only network for your roommate. Then you can use your new one as n-only for your self.

    Then tell your roommate to get with the times! :D
     
  6. labyrinthworm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #6
    well that sounds like a decent idea, but how do you set that up? the cord goes from the modem to the router, but there isn't two ports on the modem to go to two routers?

    also, she has a 5 year old computer, with 512MB of RAM and 20GB HDD, so she knows what it's like to be behind the times.
     
  7. jampat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #7
    TC (and I'm assuming APE also) can be set to do G&N or N only. I have G devices connected as well as my laptop connected at N speeds with no problem. It just works.
     
  8. the advisor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    Long Island
    #8
    Piggyback the Routers. First plug the modem into your new 'with-the-times' router. You can then very simply plug the old router into the new router via cat-5. Limit each of the routers to their respective speeds, and wha-la... you now how have two networks.. one G and one N.
     
  9. labyrinthworm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    #9
    Alright (how do you limit routers to certain speeds, how do you know what to limit them to? - like i said i really know little about networking), but that sounds like a good idea.

    Any suggestions for a decent router?
     
  10. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #10
    I have set up dedicated G and dedicated N only network at home.

    Good solution so far if you don't want to run ethernet cable.

    Airport Extreme Base Station works great.
     
  11. wackymacky macrumors 68000

    wackymacky

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    38°39′20″N 27°13′10″W
    #11

    I'd agree the best thing is to set up a dual network on for n and one for g speeds.

    TO expain this try reading the Apple guide "Designing AirPort Networks 10.5 Windows (Manual)" on the Apple suport site at:

    http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/Designing_AirPort_Networks_10.5-Windows.pdf
     

Share This Page