router set-up

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by Kristina85, Nov 30, 2014.

  1. Kristina85, Nov 30, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2014

    Kristina85 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    The router must be set to bridge mode and be used as an access point.
     
  3. Kristina85 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #3
    Altemose, thanks for the response. I'll try to set it up that way...the router I have at home right now is a Japanese router with no intall CD or instructions (got it from a friend) so not sure if I'll be able to access the router's settings. Btw. can all the routers be set to bridge mode? (or does this vary from model to model?)


    I've searched the web and found one solution which seems very promossing (some people suggested this would solve my problem for sure):
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/
    it would require flashing the appropriate device(router) and installing the software...i.e. probably couple of hours of work before I can figure all that out. Should the bridge mode not work, what do you think of this?
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4

    Many routers can be configured into bridge mode or access point mode. Essentially, the network is detecting a double NAT on the network and therefore blocking you.
     
  5. Kristina85 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #5
    Altemose, does the double NAT detection also apply to simple stuff like "internet sharing" function through your Mac? (I thought that turning Mac into a router would be the same as using "a bridge mode" or "access point mode" on a router). Or is this false? The point being: I am unable to channel the signal from my Mac to other devices either.
    Anyhow I will try to do what you've suggested this evening and if it doesn't work, I'll try to ask for more help.
     
  6. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #6
    If the network requires a log on through the browser to activate the connection then it can't be shared through Internet sharing. Most routers won't do what you need either.
     
  7. Kristina85 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #7
    Gav2k...well that cannot be completely true. At one point - a very brief point of time (during summer vacation) I was actually able to use Internet sharing even here...and the log on was still in place. In other words, it seems up to the IT department how they configure the network....the log-on will remain an annoying issue no matter what but not something that blocks routers or internet sharing per se...I know that because of the above, but also because (as I mentioned) my technically more skilled friend managed to set up his routner in his apartment (with the log-on procedure in place).
     
  8. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #8
    That's what I'm saying. The network administrator has set the network up to block what you want to do.
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    When set to access point mode, the AP should get a IP over the wired network and then passthrough DHCP services to the router on the wired network. I may be wrong but when you use Internet Sharing, it creates a different IP range which would block this.
     
  10. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #10
    I'll suggest a "social" pathway to a solution.

    Because you're a visiting researcher rather than a student, I'd think that the university's IT people might be willing to help you with your problem.

    Consider going to the right office and talking about what you need to get your research done.

    I know, I know. We all like to diss the tyrannical IT bosses. And maybe yours are rigid tyrants. But maybe they aren't.

    It seems worth a try to me. The downside of course is that they might go on alert for anything happening in your apartment to circumvent their system.
     

Share This Page