Router Settings - WHAT? HELP?!

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by atacinus, Jul 17, 2008.

  1. atacinus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    So I have the problem that Cloud --> Mac does not work (it makes me wait the 15mins. before syncing and does not start automatically after changes on me.com)

    It might be due to the fact that my router is a POS belkin that costs $20...but....I was reading about opening up port 5353 - only I have no idea what this means? Can anyone elaborate? I can't find any information on how to get this working?

    Thanks,
    Mark.
     
  2. chris3g macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #2
    rather than trying to manually forward the ports, a better option is to see if you router supports uPnP, and enable it if it does. Look up the model number of your router and then check the manual.
     
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    Mobile Me only updates the Mac/PC every 15 minutes, but changes on your system get updated online instantly. This has been discussed everywhere about MobileMe since Monday.

    TEG
     
  4. atacinus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    First of all you're wrong -

    Cloud --> Mac is instant PUSH

    Secondly, my router already has upnp turned on...?

    Anyone?

    Mark.
     
  5. chris3g macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #5
    what's your back to my mac status? if back to my mac is on, and uPnP is enabled, then the port is already forwarded.
     
  6. atacinus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    New York City
    #6
    That's odd - I've never used Back to my Mac before (I turned it on ages ago, but never use it because I sleep my computer) but when I went to the system pref. page and 'back to my mac' it gives me a yellow circle that says "Back to my Mac: Connecting..." and then just hangs and hangs and hangs...

    Question - will this be fixed if I just buy an Apple router...I'm actually tired of my cheap one anyway because it's so slow...I pay for 10Mbps internet...but I find myself using the 3G on my iPhone because it's faster!

    Mark.
     
  7. chris3g macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #7
    any router from this page is guaranteed to work http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1304

    keep in mind i am not 100% sure that this is the issue with mobileme push working or not. I believe a few days ago i was the first person to suggest that this might be the issue, and a couple of others have confirmed the same, but i haven't read anything official from apple yet regarding mobileme and sending data on the backtomymac port/5353. It's just a guess at this point. Mine's been working so i really haven't looked into it any further, maybe someone else knows more by now?
     
  8. wlh99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #8
    Where did you read that?
     
  9. MMR macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #9
    I am having the same problem as atacinus, I have uPnP switched on ports forwarded and still no forward to the mac, and no forward to the Iphone via Wifi, it only forwards to the phone when when I have a telephone signal, I have tried all I can think of, it just wont work, I have even tried DMZ, still no go:(
     
  10. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #10
    FWIW I have the same Cloud -> Mac push problem. I have an Airport Extreme, too!

    If I restart my extreme, push works momentarily.
     

Share This Page