Routing cables w internal 5.25 PSU?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AndreeOnline, Mar 20, 2015.

  1. AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #1
    Just bought a dual CPU Mac Pro 4.1 for $689. That feels pretty good, right?

    Currently own a 5.1 6-core 3.33GHz with a Accelsior_E2 and R9 280X.

    The idea is to go 3.46 dual CPU and sell of the 4.1-->5.1 3.33GHz while I keep Accelsior and 280X. Essentially I just swap trays between the Mac Pros and sell the 2009 case again, now as single CPU.

    At the same time I want to try the internal 5.25 PSU route in order to open up my options for a 2nd graphics card. It's fine with me to drop another 280X in there. Seems like good value.

    I'm not sure if how the cables get routed from the DVD bay down to the g-cards. Do we have any guides/good ideas for that?
     
  2. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #2
    I don't think you're going to be able to just swap trays but the last time I routed the power lines on the Mac Pro I went to the front corner between the case and the tray that holds the opticals and PS
     
  3. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #3
    you can't swap trays between MacPro4,1 and MacPro5,1. well, you can (the machine will boot/work). but you need to get a pair of ear plugs because the fans will run in full blast mode.
     
  4. AndreeOnline thread starter macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #4
    OK, I didn't know the trays weren't compatible.

    But I guess the firmware fix and sticking with the 4.1-->5.1 should mean I'm all good?

    Is wireless and other components equal? I haven't really read up on that part since I thought I could use the tray. But I feel fine with upgraded 4.1 too.
     
  5. mikeboss, Mar 20, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2015

    mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #5
    hold on. did you upgrade the EFI ROM from 4,1 to 5,1 or is it a real 5,1? if it's a 4,1 that was flashed to a 5,1 you can swap trays. the problem isn't the EFI but the SMC firmware. if the SMC firmware doesn't match, the fans go crazy.
     
  6. AndreeOnline thread starter macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #6
    My current Mac Pro is a real 2010 5.1 3.33Ghz Westmere.

    The one I bought is a 4.1 2009 Nehalem where I intend to use the widely spread firmware upgrade tool.

    The way I read you posts, I won't be able to sway trays, but does that actually mean anything? With the 4.1 flashed and appropriate memory installed, I should be good right?
     
  7. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #7
    in this case you defintely can't swap trays. a real 5,1 only accepts a tray from a 5,1 (SMC Version 1.39f11 on both, tray & backplane). doesn't matter if the EFI is flashed or not. be aware that the CPU upgrade on a dual-socket MacPro4,1 is a bit tricky. I suggest you make yourself familiar with de-liding of the Xeons...
     
  8. AndreeOnline thread starter macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #8
    I appreciate the quick replies.

    I know of the delidding process. Right now I'm in between doing it myself or just buying one of the complete delidded kits for $599.

    I've already delidded an old quad core Intel many years ago when water cooling was new on PCs. I've built many computers, but I'm at a point where the $100-150 aren't that critical. Still, there's a pride in getting the thing built as cheaply and efficiently as possible =)

    The main question remains: are there any major drawbacks on a 4.1 compared to 5.1 regarding other components like main PSU, wireless and such? Bluetooth should be the same...
     
  9. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #9
    yeah, I would want to do it myself, too... I just wanted to mention this because some people miserably failed while attemting to upgrade these machines.

    the machines (4,1 and 5,1) are identical. the dual-socket trays are not the same. the only other difference are the EFI and SMC firmwares. the EFI can be flashed, the SMC unfortunately can't be done.
     
  10. AndreeOnline thread starter macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
  11. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland

Share This Page