RPM? Fans? Temperature.. Mac Noob

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by WillEH, Mar 10, 2011.

1. WillEH macrumors 6502a

WillEH

Hi, I'm new to MBP, and not really with all the tech stuff. A friend recommended I download smcFanControl. So I did. What should the normal RPM be? and what the hell does RPM stand for? What is it?

Right now, it's at 57C, 2124 RPM. What would happen if I hit the RPM up to 4000? keeps my laptop cooler? is this safe?

Sorry for all the questions. =)

Thanks =)

2. iZero macrumors regular

RPM= Rotations per Minute :) It's a measurement of how fast the fan spins, similar to the RPM gauge on a car's engine.

I'd leave your fans alone and reset the SMC if I were you. It's unnecessary to manually control the speeds, your computer is well within safe operating ranges :) But if you prefer to do it manually, there's no danger in it. It will keep it cooler to kick the fans up higher. But it's designed to operate in a certain range. It's highly debated, but personally, I'd say the computer is designed to work one way, let it. I've used Macs for 10+ years now. Never had a problem due to heat, not a single failure, and every Mac I have owned, still works just fine. But you won't cause damage running SMC control, either.

Edit: As for normal RPM, it varies. The fans constantly change speeds automatically, to keep the computer in the designed range of temperature.

3. WillEH thread starter macrumors 6502a

WillEH

Thanks for the reply =)

I've reset them to 2000RPM, and will leave them alone. But I'll keep the application, it's nice to see how hot my mac is =)

Thanks again for the reply =)

4. iZero macrumors regular