RTX benchmarks on Mac Pro 5,1

bakuDD

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 25, 2013
9
3
Mac Pro 4,1 > 5,1
Xeon X5690 x1
4GB x4 1333mhz DDR3 RAM
SSD
RTX Titan w/ EVGA Powerlink (no pixlas mod but I will do it later for overclocking)
Windows 10

Metro Exodus ingame benchmark 1080p
https://i.imgur.com/KEXylld.png

Final Fantasy XV benchmark 1440p with everything maxed
Average framerate : 65.0 FPS
Maximum framerate : 91.5 FPS

Final Fantasy XV same but with gimpworks turned off
Average framerate : 94.3 FPS
Maximum framerate : 124.1 FPS

Shadow Of The Tomb Raider was more CPU heavy and got around 50fps average with rtx on.

Wondering if you can get top performance in games on a 10 year old PC? You can!
Will you get bottlenecked? Yes sometimes but its still an improvement from what you would get hooking up an eGPU to your iMac or whatever. Remember Mac Pro is PCI2.0 x16, eGPU is x4 :)
Besides I'm using a stock Titan but you could certainly get better results from an OCed 2080Ti. Really simple to install an EK water block and doesn't void your warranty!!

Sorry Apple, cheesegrater isn't going anywhere :):):);)

https://imgur.com/RCS8X6f
 
  • Like
Reactions: thornslack

spidertnt

macrumors member
Aug 11, 2014
33
21
Those look like very good numbers.

I'm using RX 580 and playing Wolfenstein II it play's really smooth at Max setting's 1440p
 

AidenShaw

macrumors P6
Feb 8, 2003
18,635
4,633
The Peninsula
Is your Mac able to do Furmark without shutting down, considering the 225W the Titan needs?
Note that you can tame the power consumption on the RTX GPUs with the nvidia-smi --lock-gpu-clocks command.

The RTX GPUs have pretty aggressive boost clocks, and very rapidly boost to the max. Reducing the max boost can stop those annoying shutdowns, while having only a minor hit on performance. (Power consumption rises much faster than performance as the boost frequency increases.)

Not something that an overclocker would consider, but for GPU computation it can increase stability.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MIKX

bakuDD

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 25, 2013
9
3
I just tried Furmark and it ran fine at the 1080p and 1440p presets.
I did get a shutdown within 3-4 seconds when running msi afterburner and attempting the built in OC scan.
 

AidenShaw

macrumors P6
Feb 8, 2003
18,635
4,633
The Peninsula
I just tried Furmark and it ran fine at the 1080p and 1440p presets.
I did get a shutdown within 3-4 seconds when running msi afterburner and attempting the built in OC scan.
In other words, overclocking gave you 0 fps.

Not 0 fps more - but 0.
 
Last edited:

bakuDD

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 25, 2013
9
3
We already know what happens w/o powerlink. I never tried it
 

beaker7

Cancelled
Mar 16, 2009
920
5,003
Kind of hilarious that people are putting RTX cards in ancient Mac desktops.

Gonna go put a new Ferrari engine in my Ford Pinto.
 

bakuDD

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 25, 2013
9
3
What does it do without the powerlink then?
It shuts down under load due to unbalanced power draw.
Btw Furmark reported 1500mhz with a brief spike to 1700mhz, so the boost clock seems to be working.

Kind of hilarious that people are putting RTX cards in ancient Mac desktops.

Gonna go put a new Ferrari engine in my Ford Pinto.
That would be a pretty solid analogy if my rig could be outperformed by... you know... any Mac released since then...
 
  • Like
Reactions: H2SO4

jscipione

macrumors 6502
Mar 27, 2017
274
142
Kind of hilarious that people are putting RTX cards in ancient Mac desktops.

Gonna go put a new Ferrari engine in my Ford Pinto.
It is the latest Mac desktop that you can put an RTX card into. Keep your fingers crossed the modular Mac Pro will have a PCIe slot.
 

bakuDD

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 25, 2013
9
3
pixlas mod complete. unfortunately, but not unexpectedly, the fps gain after overclocking is minimal, on the order of 3~4 fps. the cpu bottleneck is too high.

metro exodus results with oc rtx titan. note that the fps gap between 1080p and 1440p wasnt very high in the first place.
https://i.imgur.com/ROey3lI.png
 

aclarubicin

macrumors member
May 27, 2018
56
16
It shuts down under load due to unbalanced power draw.
Btw Furmark reported 1500mhz with a brief spike to 1700mhz, so the boost clock seems to be working.


That would be a pretty solid analogy if my rig could be outperformed by... you know... any Mac released since then...
Cheers, just ordered a powerlink for my Vega 56 that shuts down under furmark but otherwise runs fine
 

bakuDD

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 25, 2013
9
3
Gears Of War 4 benchmark got 86 FPS average at 1440p with all settings maxed out.

Interestingly turning down the heavier settings gave me a near identical framerate due to the cpu bottleneck while maxing them out gave me a gpu bottleneck.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MIKX

startergo

macrumors 68020
Sep 20, 2018
2,290
920
I am planing to use Dell DA-2 18A power supply to power the 6+8 port on the power link. Currently manufacturing a custom cable to run it through the back holes above the PCIE slots. Somebody used a combination of external+internal supply (to the PCIE slot)?
 

Jayson A

macrumors 68000
Sep 16, 2014
1,886
1,167
pixlas mod complete. unfortunately, but not unexpectedly, the fps gain after overclocking is minimal, on the order of 3~4 fps. the cpu bottleneck is too high.

metro exodus results with oc rtx titan. note that the fps gap between 1080p and 1440p wasnt very high in the first place.
https://i.imgur.com/ROey3lI.png
Seriously, instead of running an RTX Titan in your Mac Pro, why don't you just build an actual gaming PC so the CPU bottleneck won't be an issue. You're seriously limiting the ability of that beast of a card. If you can afford an RTX Titan, you certainly can build a capable machine. I recently built a gaming PC simply because my Mac Pro 5,1 CPU was just too weak for modern games, so I built a Ryzen 5 2600 machine with an RX 580 8GB and 16GB of 3000MHz RAM. Runs fantastically!
 

bakuDD

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 25, 2013
9
3
Because I like having one box for everything I want to do, and the performance isn't being limited in any meaningful way on games I actually want to play. As for the Titan I'll be returning it and keeping my 2080 TI since it's essentially the same performance at half the price, which I already knew but I wanted to compare oc performance.
 

optimaforever

macrumors newbie
Mar 3, 2020
1
0
As for the Titan I'll be returning it and keeping my 2080 TI since it's essentially the same performance at half the price, which I already knew but I wanted to compare oc performance.
Hello, which 2080Ti did you use succesfully on your 2009 MacPro?
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.