Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

barrysfarm

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 1, 2005
I'm very new to the ruby on rails stuff, and i'm having a problem accessing the console. I've tried googling, but couldn't find anything that explained how to fix it. I've got ruby 1.8.2 installed (the universal binary version). I'm on a macbook. I'm a kind of stuck, so if anyone could offer their advice, i'd appreciate it.

Barry-Abrams-Macbook:~/rubydev/moviecritic barry$ script/console
Loading development environment.
/usr/lib/ruby/1.8/irb/completion.rb:10:in `require': No such file to load -- readline (LoadError)
from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/irb/completion.rb:10
from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/irb/init.rb:218:in `require'
from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/irb/init.rb:218:in `load_modules'
from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/irb/init.rb:216:in `each'
from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/irb/init.rb:216:in `load_modules'
from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/irb/init.rb:21:in `setup'
from /usr/lib/ruby/1.8/irb.rb:54:in `start'
from /usr/bin/irb:13

barrysfarm

macrumors regular
Original poster
Nov 1, 2005
I downloaded ruby gems from rubygems.rubyforge.org, then went:

tar xzf rubygems-0. {whatever the version # was}
cd rubygems{folder}
sudo ruby setup.rb

sudo gem install rails --include-dependencies

As far as I can tell, the rest of ruby & rails works. I'm able to set up models & scaffolding, and have it interact with my mysql database.

jeremy.king

macrumors 603
Jul 23, 2002
Holly Springs, NC
I downloaded ruby gems from rubygems.rubyforge.org, then went:

tar xzf rubygems-0. {whatever the version # was}
cd rubygems{folder}
sudo ruby setup.rb

sudo gem install rails --include-dependencies

As far as I can tell, the rest of ruby & rails works. I'm able to set up models & scaffolding, and have it interact with my mysql database.