Run a 30" Display on a MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by techlover828, Aug 15, 2007.

  1. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    I have a SR MBP with 128 of vram. I was curious as to whether it is able to run a 30" screen in extended desktop mode, this would be for down the road and I wasn't sure if it would be able to run it smoothly.

    thanks in advanced.
     
  2. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #2
    It'll be flawless... the MBP has dual link DVI and thus supports those really high resolutions... you'll be fine, nothin' to worry about.
     
  3. Neutral Gamer macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #3
    The extra graphics memory will only make a difference for games / rendering 3D graphics and shouldn't have any effect on normal usage on a 30" monitor at its highest resolution.

    As iToaster said above me, it's the Dual Link DVI that's the important thing not the graphics memory.

    Cheers :D
     
  4. Taylor C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #4
    The fact that it used to take two DVI connections and a custom graphics card in the PowerMac to power a 30" display and it can now be used on a notebook should be enough to let you know that performance is okay. ;p It works fine.
     
  5. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
  6. pengu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Diddily Daddily...
    #6
    um. a 30" has never needed two connections. they use the same dual-link DVI that the MBP does.
     

Share This Page