Run apps downloaded from anywhere - Problem after Sierra Upgrade

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by subdream, Feb 11, 2017.

Tags:
  1. subdream macrumors newbie

    subdream

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    #1
    Ran into this issue where the "anyone" option in Security and Privacy vanishes after upgrading from El Capitan or Yosemite. Prevents you from running apps downloaded outside the App store. Posted a video of the fix, might help someone here out...

     
  2. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    Not logged in as admin!? Because AFAIK the "from anywhere" is an only-for-admin tweak!

    Cheers
     
  3. subdream thread starter macrumors newbie

    subdream

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    #3
    Hey cheers for the reply, I'm logged in as Admin for sure. I read somewhere that apparently they removed the option?
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    That's correct, Sierra removed the "from anywhere" option in the Security & Privacy pane.

    And, your "fix" is not a necessary thing for most users. Even if you encounter an app that you need to download from "anywhere", running the app is a short right-click to choose "run" from the contextual menu, click the response window to accept that - and done.
     
  5. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    Touché! But is that also available for non-admin users? That would surely be a flaw in security.

    Cheers
     
  6. subdream thread starter macrumors newbie

    subdream

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    #6
    I had an issue where it was saying some of my apps were damaged when I tried the right clicl option. So had to use this "fix"
    --- Post Merged, Feb 11, 2017 ---
    No, in the Terminal bit, you have to supply admin credentials. So all good security wise!
     
  7. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Oke, never seen that one. Glad you could fix it. I'll keep this one in my troubleshoot database then!

    Cheers
     
  8. jdorwart macrumors newbie

    jdorwart

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Location:
    Connecticut USA
    #8
    You don't have to disable the security feature. You can add an exception for each app you want to run that is from an "unknown source"
     

Share This Page