Run Apps not optimized for iMac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Berti10, Jun 12, 2018 at 12:01 PM.

  1. Berti10 macrumors regular

    Berti10

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    in February, the iMac Pro was just released and reduced by 20% in Germany, so it was a no-brainer to buy it to replace an 7y.o. Windows Dell machine. The iMac Pro works fantastic, but there are still some Apps not optimized for the chipset and even contacting the App's support, they told us they need much more time to update the App. So we are still running two computer in order to use all apps. Is there any possibility to create an environment to run those apps (i.e. simulate a Core i5 or so?)?
     
  2. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #2

    Which apps? It's just an Intel Skylake chipset and Radeon graphics.
     
  3. G4DPII macrumors regular

    G4DPII

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #3
    The only software that has a small chance - I mean very small - of being optimised would be Final Cut. The custom OSX build they shipped with possibly, nothing more.
     
  4. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #4
    If you are responding to the 32 Bit warning, you can safely ignore that for this and the next OS release.
    For most apps the negative performance impact is highly overstated.
     
  5. Berti10 thread starter macrumors regular

    Berti10

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    #5
    Hi! Thanks everyone for your recommendations. The specific Apps are some online banking Apps and specific Apps of small Developers. FCPX runs perfectly. The mentioned apps crash at the start, because they can't handle the chipset. These are non-appstore Apps.
     
  6. DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #6
    Mac OS X doesn't really care about the chipset it's running on, that's really a transparent thing to the OS and apps.

    I think you may mean the CPU itself, rather than the chipset. Most chipset features are handled by the boot rom, tho some poorly code apps may do a CPU check and unexpectedly quit if they don't find a CPU they are looking for.

    I've seen this with Adobe CC under the macOS with an AMD Ryzen cpu, CC just quits when it doesn't find an Intel CPU, even tho the Ryzen supports everything as far as instruction sets.

    It maybe the app you are trying to run does a CPU check as different Apple shipped cpus would, or may support more advanced instructions/features in the app.

    These type of cpu checks are really poor coding, and can lead to the app just quitting/crashing when it encounters a newer CPU. Really and app should only check for advanced feature set, rather than the CPUID.

    Without the crash report it's hard to say what is going wrong, but it's likely just poor coding practices by the developer, or just the newer CPU in the iMac Pro doesn't support a CPU feature or instruction that an older CPU did, or doesn't support it in the same way, tho I highly doubt it.
     
  7. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #7
    Do you know, it's the chipset or the GPU?

    You might try running them under VMware. I have some older OS X guests for outdated software.
     

Share This Page