Run iMac from MacBook HD??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MacBook Jack, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. MacBook Jack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #1
    Does anyone know off the top of their heads if i can start up my dads iMac from my MacBook?

    Do i hold down 'F' when one of them is starting or something?
     
  2. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  3. MacBook Jack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #3
    I wasn't very clear there at all!

    I mean use a fire wire cable between the two computers.

    Kinda like using the macbook as an external hard disk.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Do you mean Target Disk mode

    IF so it is "T" you want

     
  5. MacBook Jack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for that xUKHCx! :D

    Now i can keep my Lightroom library on my MacBook and use my paw's iMac for a big screen! :cool:
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    I have only had one short experience with Target disk mode (about 5 minutes - 2 year ago) but IIRC the "target" ran with fans at full speed after a very short period of use and continued at full. If this is the case and it bothers you you can always get an external harddrive and run your Lightroom picture on your dads computer from there.
     

Share This Page