Run into problem for trying to jailbreak

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by LucasG, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. LucasG macrumors regular

    LucasG

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #1
    So I wanted to upgrade from 4.0.1 to 4.2.1 and was doing the following:

    1. Created custom IPSW without baseband update (4.2.1)
    2. Restored custom IPSW through iTunes.
    3. Jailbreaked using greenpois0n

    And now run into a problem since my iphone says I must put and AT&T sim card (which I do not have! I live in CR).

    What can I do now? I thought that problem would of been covered by the jailbreak? I have now a completely unusable phone. :(
     
  2. klamse25 macrumors 6502a

    klamse25

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    When you created the custom IPSW with pwnage tool you should have clicked the option for an activated ipsw.
    You could also buy a used/inactive sim of the carrier your phone is locked to thru ebay for like $1-2.
     
  4. LucasG thread starter macrumors regular

    LucasG

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #4
    I did click to have an activated phone on the custom IPSW option. Is there any other way I can get it working now? Can I restore through a tool the IPSW to try again?
     
  5. jpetticrew macrumors 6502a

    jpetticrew

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    This is the best option, as it doesn't cause problems with push notifications.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    I agree.
    And it will come in handy in the future if you need to restore/update/rejailbreak your iphone without any of the hactivation issues.
     
  7. LucasG thread starter macrumors regular

    LucasG

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #8
    Damn, isn't there another way? It'll take days to get a sim card. :( I need my phone.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    You can try creating another custom IPSW with pwnage tool.
    The one you used was not hactivated.
    Then put the iphone in pwned DFU mode and restore to that hacked IPSW again.
    Then once it boots up run greenpoison to JB untethered.
     
  9. LucasG thread starter macrumors regular

    LucasG

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #10
    How can I restore it when I have no iTunes access? Is there another way?
     
  10. jpetticrew macrumors 6502a

    jpetticrew

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    What happens if you hold the sleep/wake button and the home button for 10-15 seconds?
     
  11. bursthead macrumors 6502

    bursthead

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #12
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    No itunes access?
    You mean you dont have itunes available on your computer or because your iphone is not activated.
    You can still restore an unactivated iphone.

    That's only for iphone 4's.
    The OP hasnt mentioned what kind of iphone we're talking about but my guess its a 3GS.
    Should have mentioned that on the first post.
     
  13. LucasG thread starter macrumors regular

    LucasG

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #14
    Trying to restore a custom IPSW but I it's throwing some 1600 error...
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    Did you put it in pwned DFU mode before with pwnage or redsnow?
    Then it will allow you to restore to the custom IPSW thru itunes.
     
  15. LucasG thread starter macrumors regular

    LucasG

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #16
    After being able to restore the custom IPSW now I'm getting stuck in DFU mode. :(
     

Share This Page