Run New OS's on my hardware?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by imisch, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. imisch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Location:
    ✔In My House✔
    #1
    I have a iMac , which was upgraded from a 1.83ghz cpu to a Intel Core 2 duo 7250 CPU at 2.0ghz (I plan to later go to a Core 2 Duo Extreme). For now, Im using a 7250, and i am curious if I can run Yosemite or Mavericks. I currently only have 1gb of ram but I will upgrade to 4GB in like a week or two.

    Thanks in advance!:D
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Which iMac do you have? Year and model number?
     
  3. imisch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Location:
    ✔In My House✔
    #3
    iMac Late 2006 , MA710LL which i upgraded to a C2D 2.0ghz
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    It looks like the latest OS it can run is Lion, 10.7.5.
     
  5. imisch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Location:
    ✔In My House✔
    #5
    I am curious as to why it cant run higher than Lion, is it a hardware requirement?
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #6
    Yeah. Apple designed their OS's to run on specific hardware, and at some point they decide to make them only work so far back. I looked up your Mac in MacTracker and it advised that 10.7.5 was the highest OS that particular Mac would run.
     
  7. imisch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Location:
    ✔In My House✔
    #7
    What about upgrading my hardware, to like a Intel Core 2 Duo Extreme X7900 and 4GB of ram(has been done before)
     
  8. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #8
    I don't know about upgrading CPU's on Mac's, but I have to assume there is a limit to what can be done, and the OS can detect what it there and either allow or disallow an installation based on the detected parameters.

    I guess that, for all intents and purposes, 10.7.5 is all you could get onto that Mac.
     
  9. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #9
    You might want to peruse this thread on installing Mavericks on older Mac's. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1593194

    The biggest issue I know of is the Intel integrated graphics. Given that your iMac has the ATI Radeon X1600 it may be possible to get Mavericks to work with full video support. You'd have to dig into that unless someone knows.
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #10
    The Intel graphics is the limiting factor. You have a 32 bit GPU with a 64 bit CPU. Mountain Lion/Mavericks/Yosemite are all entirely 64 bit operating systems.
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    That iMac cannot use an Intell X7900. The fastest CPU it can use is the Intell T7600 which runs at 2.33Ghz with a 667Mhz bus. That iMac's limitation in running newer CPUs is its 667Mhz bus.
     

Share This Page