Runcore 64GB SSD 1.8 ZIF PATA issue

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by mac jones, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. mac jones macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #1
    So I just got the Runcore SSD for my rev. A ($200)

    And it doesn't work.

    Right specs (the ZIF is a bit loose-there's two types of ZIFs -if you can believe this)

    It should work....I think. It works in other devices so either it's a firmware thing of a ZIF thing.

    Thing is, I went through this same thing with the Mtron 32GB SSD. It also was not detected (exact same scenario ). Others also were having problems with the Mtron and apparently there was a firmware update at one point (but I had sold mine already)

    So i'm waiting for others experiences with this. (these are hard to come by as only one place in the US sells them (MyDigitalDiscount.com) as far as I know and they are backordered until mid Feb.
     
  2. johnhirsch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #2
    Same issue. Works as a USB drive but not connected by zif. I got the apple logo to show up once while holding the connection with my fingers once so I believe the connector is just not fitting tightly enough. Unfortunately, I tried going back and forth with the old hard drive to do tests that the connection now longer works with that either. Going to get a replacement zif connector and see if anything changes. A real bummer.
     
  3. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #3
    Yes, i had also started to worry about ruining the flexcable. It's very cramped in there and there's some stress on the cable with normal configuration.

    I've noticed that many generic Zif flex cables have an added layer (can be seen as blue strip at the ends if you do a search on Ebay for Zif cables) that adds some thickness to the cable at the insertion ends. The Air's cable is very thin and most likely was made to spec for the Samsung's specifically; (All ZIF's are not created equal as far as cable thickness). I tried adding some thickness by cutting of a thin strip of plastic and wedging it in with the Zif cable. I was pretty sure that would work as I"ve read about this problem elsewhere on the Web but-no such luck.

    I may try it again as the fact that you had some luck shows that it's at least possible (yes i'm a fool)

    It's just that the dern thing is so cheap :eek:
     
  4. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #4
    I just compaired the Airs ZIF cable to another ZIF cable that I know works with the Runcore with a magnifying glass and they look to be identical except for a very minor thickness difference.

    So for the life of me I can't understand why it would not work.

    note: I'm really beginning to hate these ZIF cables :D
     
  5. Nak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    The specs for these drives on MyDigitalDiscount.com say they are 5V devices.

    The Samsung PATA SSD and HD used on the RevA are 3.3V.

    Nak
     
  6. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #6
    Yep 5V

    I was sure that was a typo because as far as I know all 1.8 drives are 3.3V (or so I was led to believe)

    And It works with other 3.3V devices.

    But you are right. I says 5V right on it.

    Why the **** would they do this? Are they completely lame?

    But thanks for the post as I might have never noticed that.

    (This was discussed at the JKmobile blog where they the question was asked and they said it would work at 3.3V , which I assumed they meant the 5V at the MDD site was a typo (or whatever)

    I assumed wrong

    (they also did a review of it (you can see the link to the review at the MyDigitalDiscount.com)
     
  7. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #7
    MDD is sending out emails to those who received the fist batch saying that there may be a ZIF connection issue.

    However, I would think that any problems with this most likely will be due to the 5V.

    Some thing is very wrong with this whole picture.

    I wonder if it's possible that this is some kind of design error, or that it's made for a specific device. It's no mystery that 1.8 drives are 3.3V not 5V

    we shall see.

    Anyone with and knowledge about this chime in as i'm totally in the dark

    P.S I'd like to send it back to Runcore with a note saying "Could you please reengineer this to 3.3V and send it back when your done.... thank you." :D
     
  8. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #8
    It's not a voltage problem, it's the ZIF connector itself.

    Discussion here and here here

    I received this e-mail today
    EDIT: That's what I get for walking away from the computer while writing a post. I still think it's the ZIF connector though, it fits very loose on my computer.
     
  9. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #9
    Thanks for the links. (note the confusion in those threads )

    the connector is loose but i'm still at a loss why these are 5V? . Perhaps it's a connector issue and the 5V is a max value.

    What junk.

    And, one solution I noticed was for them to send out different ZIF cables?

    Not a great help here i'm afraid.

    Looks like an RMA if they will take it.
     
  10. fteoath64 macrumors regular

    fteoath64

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #10
    Guys. Thanks for posting your experiences with the RunCore. I hope it is the ZIF2 cables that are the problem.
    As for the 5V issue, I think the drive has the tolerance of up to 5V but will function at 3.3V or less normally. TTL logic in the controller chip typically handle such a thing, so typo or not it should not be a factor in your tests.
    As you mention variances in thickness in the cables, I suspect strongly that the right cables will work fine. Best of luck, cos if someone can convince me the 128GB version can work on Rev A , I would seriously consider CUTTING the rectangular hole in the bottom cover just to fit this drive!. While doing so, will take a mold to make a carbon fibre cover that will clear 3 extra mm needed!. :D

    Let us know once you got it working. It will give Rev B machines a run for their money! :)
     
  11. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #11
    unless they either redesign it, or make some type of adapter to work with a non-satndard ZIF cable like the one in the AIR it's not going to work.

    Both of those scenarios are unlikely for the near future I would think.
     
  12. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #12
    An update from MDD (in the HP forum)
    JKKMobile has found the drive works for some systems and not for others. He also noted that
     
  13. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #13
    Thanks for that

    These drives that they are now shipping will not work in the AIR.

    JK originally got a sample that had a different ZIF that may or may not have worked in the AIR (we will never know)

    So now Runcore is sending out special ZIF cables that will supposedly work with some of the Netbooks. These look like they are the standard ZIF cables with the blue ends but with some modifications, i'm guessing. But these cables are not at all like the cable in the Air. The Air uses a unique design that Runcore is not going to send out-no way.

    So these drives as they are are no good -period.

    If they eventually change the connector then that might work and they may do so as they are at least owning up to the blunder, apparently.

    But the problem is that if this new special cable they send out shuts up enough of the moaners then there will be no incentive to retool the connector hardware.

    Lets hope this fix is a failure so they they will change the connector :D
     
  14. justit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #14
    Could someone use the existing Rev A SSD cable with this new drive? Or is it that the drive connector on the Runcore SSD is incompatable?
     
  15. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #15
    Oh this just keeps getting better.

    What I gather now is that the connector on the shipped version is "twisted"
    (or flipped around, converse, or whatever)

    In other words...a total mess.

    So they are sending special twisted cables for all of them.

    (i've packed mine already)
     
  16. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #16
    Hmm. But if the problem is on the SSD itself, we should get the option to return it for a new one. It sounds like this problem was on a batch of SSDs, not all currently shipping SSDs.
     
  17. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #17
    I would assume option 2 should work for the Macbook Air, and that the problem was isolated to the previous batch of SSD hard drives they shipped out late last week.
     
  18. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #18
    We can thank the incredible support from Mydigitaldiscount.com (they are all over this issue)

    I just hope the 'Next batch' is going to be relatively soon.

    So go ahead an email them to order (great price)
     
  19. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #19
    How well was your 64 GB fit in the Macbook Air? I currently have a Dell XT and the 8 mm fits but I can't put the bracket over it (the hard drive sits open underneath the battery.

    I suppose some should wait and see if the new batch actually works before pulling the trigger? Are you going to RMA your drive?
     
  20. mac jones thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #20
    It fits

    I'm just going to have them send a replacement. If that doesn't work, I'll send that back.

    These guys at MDD are fine to deal with so i'm not worried.

    I'm just really impressed by the speed at which this has been addressed

    Must be some sort of record :D

    ( or maybe i'm slowing down )
     
  21. fteoath64 macrumors regular

    fteoath64

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #21
    Yea!. Twisted cable, the simplest thing are usually the most frustrating. At least the light at the end of that tunnel is showing.

    Well, why such a speedy response ?. remember the OCZ fiasco with NewEgg ?. It spread like wild-fire and many people got burned. If the manufacturer wants the first batch of users to be "field beta testers" just say so and threat them well. This will sell in great volume if the product is as good as it says and priced reasonably. We are holding up hope that RunCore would be one who will break this barrier and do well in the market. :)
     
  22. italiansauce88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #22
    Thanks to MacJones for having the balls to give this a try and let everyone know the issues. Good luck on the new SSD and keep us posted!
     
  23. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #23
    Well, I've completed my RMA and the drive is on it's way back to MDD. They're hoping to get the new drives in a week or so.

    OA
     
  24. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #24
    Update from MDD

    Dear Valued Customer,



    Thanks once again for your patience and understanding with all the problems we've had regarding the 1.8 inch zif drives. You have all been outstanding. However, it turns out now there has been a problem with the voltage due to a faulty resister inside the drive, and we need to recall them. A lot of you have already sent your units back and are kindly waiting for a replacement. Those replacements should be fixed, tested and ready to ship within the next two weeks.



    Obviously if you have already shipped yours back, please disregard this email. Those of you who still have one to send back... please either call us to set up an RMA, or fill out the following form with ZIFRETURN as the RMA# and please include in the comments section, the exact model number of the computer you will be using the drive in. Here is a link to the form:



    http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/PDFs/MDDProductReturnForm.pdf




    Douglas Hare
    MyDigitalDiscount.com
    Phone: 315-343-0090
    Toll Free: 1-866-217-1800
     
  25. rhyx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008

Share This Page