Runescape on MBP

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by thesk1llerz, May 15, 2010.

  1. thesk1llerz macrumors member

    thesk1llerz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #1
    I;m getting the base model MBP with a 320 HD in it and would like to know how well runescape runs in OSX
    ty
     
  2. ozreth macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #2
    lol runescape is a 8 or so year old browser game. It will run on ANYTHING. These MBP's are high end machines (for the most part), people are running games like fallout 3 on them. Really gotta ask about runescape?
     
  3. thesk1llerz thread starter macrumors member

    thesk1llerz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #3
    ik ik but i keep seeing threads about it not running so well and it crashing their browsers and foI really like playing runescape, and dont want to use my windows desktop or install windows on my MBP
     
  4. ozreth macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    Hm, maybe it depends on which broswer you are running?

    I remember a short stint with runescape. I played it on my girlfriends white macbook (about three years old) for about an hour or two one night when I was bored. Granted that isnt much test time but I saw no problems then. I was using Firefox. Im sure you will be fine, and if for some reason there is a problem you can just give in and boot camp it. And actually since its not a very demanding game you could probably just a virtual machine of windows and play it that way while still being logged into OSX.

    But I have a feeling you will be perfectly fine playing it. Since its browser based, maybe open it up on a MBP at the apple store? :p
     
  5. thesk1llerz thread starter macrumors member

    thesk1llerz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #5
    Thanks for response
    btw with
    "And actually since its not a very demanding game you could probably just a virtual machine of windows and play it that way while still being logged into OSX"
    so you mean using fusion or what?
     
  6. ozreth macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    Yep fusion or parallels. Both have 14 day trials I believe. But make sure you try running the game in differnet browsers in OSX first.
     
  7. Abyssgh0st macrumors 68000

    Abyssgh0st

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    #7
    I can't imagine you'd have any problems. But if you did, it's be a result of Flash crashing Safari, so I'd try Chrome or Fire Fox as an alternative if that happens.
     
  8. zeemeerman2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #8
    Abyssgh0st, please do your research.

    Runescape is a browser-based game, yes, but it runs in Java, not Flash. Only ads run in Flash. But with an adblocker (there is an addon in Firefox), there isn't even a possibility to crash because of Flash, because there is no Flash loaded.

    OP:
    I understand the original poster, because Runescape does -not- run well on my MacBook with a GMAx3100 inside. It's playable on the lowest settings, and since it's not heavily action-based (you don't have to click every second or so), it's also playable on the highest settings. But not without a very annoying drop in framerate. (Say about 5 fps)

    Nowadays, Mac computers are of much more capable than the Intel GMA X3100 ones. I always used a scale of 9400m's being 4x higher in fps in games. I use four, since it's probably more. In the worst case, it's 4x, otherwise, it's higher, so no worries.
    And then there's the 320M, which Apple advertised as even more powerful than the 9400M one. Say an average of being 50% faster, making it in total 6x as fast as a MacBook from 2 years ago.

    I'm not even speaking of RAM upgrades. I use DDR2 RAM, new MacBooks use DDR3 RAM. I use a 2.1 GHz processor, newer MacBooks have, since today, a 2.4 GHz processor. To do not speak of technical details, I'll just say it's faster overall even more. So no worries about your new gaming machine. :)
     
  9. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Runescape is Java based, not Flash (thank God!)
     
  10. iceblade macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #10
    Runescape runs fine on my MBP 13", 2.26 Ghz, 2 gigs of RAM, 9400m. In other words, it'll work fine, like many others have said... But I have played RS for a few hours on this machine, and I know it works fine. I use firefox or safari (I think I was using safari when I was playing RS, though).
     
  11. Wayfarer macrumors 65816

    Wayfarer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
  12. Wayfarer macrumors 65816

    Wayfarer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #12
    Above all, a fast internet connection would make the most dramatic difference with Runescape.
     
  13. thesk1llerz thread starter macrumors member

    thesk1llerz

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #13
    Thanks for all the input my MBP came yesterday and it runs runescape perfectly. Even though I only played for 2-3 hours. On safari, the only thing that happened to my laptop was really hot.
     
  14. Nsutton macrumors member

    Nsutton

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Location:
    6 Feet Under
    #14
    I have a MBP and it lags if you put the settings any higher than the bare minimum or in HD if lags completly unplayable.
     
  15. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #15
    That is a sloppy game engine, and not your computer.
     
  16. lilcosco08 macrumors 65816

    lilcosco08

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Location:
    Dayton
    #16
    Sorry to revive a dead thread but
    I just needed to know how it handles full screen HD mode
     

Share This Page