running 2 copies of itunes at once?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by phishincruisin, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. phishincruisin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #1
    Is there any way to have 2 copies of itunes running at once so that I can have different music playing through my airport express then I have playing through my computer? I'm running Leopard if that makes a difference. Thanks.
     
  2. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
  3. phishincruisin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #3
    Thats too bad. Why can I open multiple instances of mail and other applications but not itunes? This would be a nice feature
     
  4. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #4
    You can't do that with Mail or any other application. Well, sort of (by duplicating the application), but the Mac isn't designed to run multiple instances of programs. It is designed to have multiple windows open in a single program, which you can do with iTunes (provided you want to see different views in each). Just double-click on any playlist or other category in the iTunes sidebar and it will open it in a new window.

    jW
     
  5. phishincruisin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #5
    That opens another window, but you can't play two different things at once...
    you can open 2 instances of a lot of programs. in terminal you can type, for example, open -n //applications/mail.app and it will open a whole new instance of mail, tried it with safari too and that worked. Didn't require any duplication at all. Just had 2 mail icons and 2 safari icons in my dock.
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    And what happens if both copies of iTunes try to play music at the same time? Or access the same iPod?
     
  7. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #7
    Yeah, sorry, wasn't clear. You're not going to be able to do that from one computer without just using a different program to play the music for one source. Of course, that's always an option. It'd be your best bet, I think.

    BTW, you're perfectly capable through that terminal command of opening multiple copies of an app, it appears (I actually didn't know about that), but because of the way that OS X handles preferences, you couldn't have different settings for each.

    jW
     
  8. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #8
    Just be careful when you're doing it; if the application is not designed to be used that way there is a pretty good chance you could get some file corruption.
     
  9. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #9
    It's not exactly what you want, but I found a way to play two different tracks at once using Front Row, iTunes and having the Remote app installed on your iPhone/iPod touch:

    Open iTunes, then open Front Row (if you have any music playing in iTunes, it will stop).
    Start playing a track using Front Row. Meanwhile, you can navigate your iTunes library with the Remote app on the iPhone/iPod.
    Select a song using Remote, and iTunes will start playing that track along with the track that you already selected in Front Row.
     
  10. OneBlueFire macrumors member

    OneBlueFire

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    #10
    Here's a pretty simple solution:

    Use 2 (TWO) music management programs. Use iTunes to play through your Airport Express, and use the other to play directly from your machine. Just make sure that iTunes is the one to still manage the actual library. Don't let your 2nd program do anything to the iTunes Music folder-structure.
     

Share This Page