Running Apps on External HDD

Discussion in 'macOS' started by logantyler, Aug 12, 2013.

  1. logantyler, Aug 12, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2013

    logantyler macrumors newbie

    logantyler

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    #1
    Hey, would I be able to play Civilization 5 if I placed it on an external HDD?

    I have a 1TB HDD USB 3.0
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    This depends on the app, sadly. Most applications will happily work when moved wherever. Applications that require registration / activation often will NOT work when moved.
     
  3. logantyler thread starter macrumors newbie

    logantyler

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    #3
    It seems that Civilization 5 does not work on an external HDD.
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    Can you trick it. Leave it on the external and then right click on the external application and make an 'Alias' (Just like Shortcut in Windows) and then move that 'Alias' to the applications folder. See if that works.
     

Share This Page