Running Cable TV to my MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Cat Woman, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. Cat Woman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    #1
    Can I get step by step instructions on how to connect my cable tv to my laptop?

    All I have for the cable is the black round-ended wire with a pin in the center. Also, I have the previous generation MacBook Pro.

    What products do you recommend I buy? I'd like to do this on the cheap.
     
  2. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #2


    You need this..

    Then RCA cable to the hybrid then from hybrid to usb to laptop .. All software/cables are included...
     
  3. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    As iPhil says, you need something like the Elgato eye-tv. The Macbook does not include a video-in port (nor does an iMac), so you need the 3rd party hardware and software that winds up connecting to the MacBook via usb.
     
  4. MacBook.Matt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #4
    That thing cost almost $300. Don't some external monitors have built in TV Tuners?
     
  5. srl7741 macrumors 68020

    srl7741

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    In my world
    #5
    Eye TV

    The Eye TV linked above cost $149. It works great and also allows you to record TV, transfer to ATV or iPhone and a whole lot more. The new version also has an FM Tuner built in. A great device
     
  6. MacBook.Matt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    #6
    O really? I must have looked at a package deal or something. All without a cable box, just the coaxial cable into the little device and thats it? Even my HDTV requires a cable box to get hi-def channels but this thing gets them straight from the coax? hmm.... I might have to pick one up myself.
     
  7. srl7741 macrumors 68020

    srl7741

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    In my world
    #7
    Eye TV

    My Local Apple Store carries them in stock. They are very popular.
     
  8. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    it will not necessarily get HDTV from the cable - if the provider encrypts the channel you need cablecard or you're out of luck.
     
  9. Cat Woman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009

Share This Page