Running Ethernet cables and setting up home network

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Jedi5, Jan 20, 2010.

1. Jedi5 macrumors 6502

Jedi5

In the process of finishing our basement and before we drywall, I want to run cables to maximize the best I can internet/networking/TV viewing etc...

I'm very new to this so what I have planned very well might not be feasible.
    In fact, it might be over kill. But hopefully that is where some of you chime in and lead me in the right direction.

I currently have my PC and wireless Linksys router located in the basement.
    I am able to have wireless internet on the main floor but when I go to the upper floor, I lose my connection. Makes sense as I go further away from the router.
    My internet is dry loop DSL.

My plan is to make/keep my office in the basement where the PC/router/printer/iMac will be located. I want to run ethernet cable to the main and upper floor so that every floor will internet connection.

In my head I planned to run ethernet cable to each floor. From there, I want to connect each ethernet cable to an Airport Extreme. One AE on the main floor connected to a TV and one AE on the upper floor also connected to a TV and Dish receiver.

If I understand AE correctly, I can stream music and video to the TV it is connected to, am I correct on this? So, all I have to do is be able to open up my MBP connect to the AE and listen to music or watch a movie on the TV like I have planned in my head, right? LOL.

Also, from what I've read an AE acts as a bridge. So I should be able to extend my range for wifi to the upper floor and not worry about losing my internet connection, right? If I'm on the right path, every floor *should* be covered for wifi connection using an AE.

Thoughts so far?

I have this new iMac and MBP with all this potential and I guess what I don't want is to limit myself and use these machines to the absolute minimum.

2. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

Darth.Titan