Running .exe programs on mac?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ladybutterfly00, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. ladybutterfly00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #1
    Hey all,

    I have a macbook pro, and i deseperately need to run an .exe program on it, is there any program that will convert these kind of files to a mac compatible format without damaging the computer?

    Thank you for your help!!

    Ruby
     
  2. drichards macrumors 6502a

    drichards

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #2
    On Intel macs, you can run exe's though crossover or darwine sometimes, or you can install windows with virtualbox or parallels. Some exe's are archive files and are just unpacked with the unarchiver.

    Please elaborate, what exe or exe's do you need to run?
     
  3. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #3
    An .exe file is a windows application i.e. it will not run on a mac. You can however use Bootcamp or Parallels to install Windows so you can use the file. If you are just after bits and bobs inside the .exe like images and certain files i.e. not running the actual application you can use FileJuicer.
     
  4. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #4
    err... you'd have to run windows either using boot camp or a virtual machine (parallels or vmware fusion)
     
  5. ladybutterfly00 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #5
    Running .exe programs on mac

    it's just a program to install something on my blackberry phone, and I rarely use .exe files, and I was told that installing windows on my mac will just take alot of space, plus I wont be using it that much..

    So the only option I have is to install Windows?

    Ruby
     
  6. Ampidire macrumors 6502

    Ampidire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #6
    If you just need to run this once, why not just borrow a friends computer for it? It sounds like you probably don't even have an available windows license for this, and that would be extra money spent on something you wouldn't use.

    But yes, the only way to run windows programs on a Mac is to actually have windows on it, either in a program like VMWare (Pay) or Parallels (Pay), or on it's own via Apple's BootCamp (Free).
     
  7. drichards macrumors 6502a

    drichards

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #7
  8. trucrypt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    #8
    PocketMac sucks. MissingSync is nice but can't upgrade the OS on the device.

    I use VMware Fusion (as stated, not free, but they have a 30 day trial) with Windows XP installed to run Desktop Manager and for upgrading the OS on my BlackBerry.

    Rumor is that RIM is developing a replacement to PocketMac in-house (syncing, upgrading, all the bells and whistles of Desktop Manager under Windows) but who knows when that'll actually happen.
     

Share This Page