Running Far Cry on MacBook Pro through Boot Camp is like running a marathon in mud

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Omega Mitch, Dec 28, 2008.

  1. Omega Mitch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #1
    It's slow, choppy, and tiresome! I don't understand, since I run Oblivion on highest settings with nary a hint of lag. What could I be doing wrong? Because after running Oblivion flawlessly, I truly have no idea.

    My MacBook Pro is 15", 512 video card, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD (80 GB partitioned to Windows XP through Boot Camp).
     
  2. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #2
    Is this the original FarCry, or FarCry 2? Because if it's the original, there's a Cider port for mac that runs on my White Macbook just fine :p
     
  3. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #3
    If you are using a unibody MBP, switch the graphics to the nVidia 9600GT instead of the 9400M.
     
  4. Omega Mitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #4
    It is the original Far Cry. I have Far Cry 2 on PS3 and figured I should play through the first one considering the price for a new copy ($9.99).

    What is unibody and how can I switch the graphics cards? Will this affect other games, or enhance them?
     
  5. Omega Mitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #5
    you know whats strange? I booted it up again to humor myself and it was flawless. Max settings, 1440 x 800 resolution. I have no idea what the problem was, but it is completely gone.

    Thank you guys for your help. I guess a Mod can close this up.
     
  6. ChrisN macrumors 65816

    ChrisN

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Demarest, NJ
    #6
    Well to answer your unibody question, the unibody macbook is the newest revision to the Macbook line(go to apple.com for pics) and if you have it go to system prefs and a switch should be there.

    ChrisN
     
  7. fblack macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    I had issues with the original farcry with my PC, its a very buggy game. Some of the issues were resolved by updating with a patch. The game did not like certain video cards, I think the ATI variety.
     
  8. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #8
    If he has to ask about it, chances are that he has the 'classic' MBP and not the unibody.
     
  9. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #9
    If I were you, since you have already bought the PC version, I would download the Cider port for mac. This means that you don't need to restart into Windows every time to play it.
     

Share This Page