Running games on Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dlandry6, May 17, 2012.

  1. dlandry6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #1
    MacBook Pro 15" 2011
    2.2 GHz intel i7, 4GB Ram,
    Radeon HD 6750M (1GB VRAM),
    750G hard drive

    I was wondering if I can upgrade my graphics card or chip.
    Also if I can upgrade my CPU.

    The games I want to play are Star Wars The Old Republic, Star Wars Republic Commando.
     
  2. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #2
    No and no. Neither of those parts are upgradable.

    Is it just me, or does this exact same question pop up every other day now?
     
  3. MOKHAN macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    Haha, I've noticed it too.

    To the OP, unfortunately you can't, as the GPU is soldered.
     
  4. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    It's not just you. Part of the problem is that people buy things without doing their research or having a realistic outlook on what they want in a computer.
     
  6. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    No and no.
    The game runs fine on low to medium settings.

    I just saw a thread yesterday about upgrading GPU on MBP, I mean c'mon!
    Just google it for god sake...

    Again, the only Mac that can upgrade GPU is the Mac Pro and Hackintosh.
    iMac as well apparently, but not cost efficient (meaning has to be done by Apple).

    You can upgrade Mac Pro CPU's through OWC as well.
    And of course hackintosh.
     
  7. makaveli559m macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #7
    MacBook Pro 15" 2009
    2.66 GHz intel Core 2 Duo, 8GB Ram,
    Nvidia 9600m GT (256MB VRAM),
    500G hard drive


    I play Black Ops and MW3 on it on high resolutions and settings no AA they both play perfect.
     
  8. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #8
    Lol
     
  9. Swain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    #9
    Black Ops and MW3 aren't exactly the most demanding games.
     
  10. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #10
    Not to mention, the poster's definition of "perfect" must be the same as my definition of "barely playable".

    MW3 is a terrible looking game, but it's still not going to be perfect on a 4 year old laptop GPU. I mean, the 256mb VRAM isn't even enough to run textures on high.
     
  11. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #11
    Exactly I have a 330M 256MB which over clocked is quite a decent bit faster than the 9600M. And to get decent mulitplayer framerates ones ends up running some medium settings and textures work on high but not extra. Actually MW2 looked better than MW3 with the playable settings. MW3 is somewhat fuzzy because of too many engine shortcuts.
    MW3 is undemanding enough to run well on those old machines but it is far from perfect.
    Games with actual new engines are a whole different story. BF3 being the worst because even on low that doesn't work properly.
     
  12. earwax69 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #12
    If it jag, try to reduce the resolution of the game. That should help.

    I bought a used GTX 285 for 100$ 2 years ago. It's enough to play any games but my Dell 30inch resolution (2560 x 1600) really make things slower than say 1920x1080.
     

Share This Page