Running GTX 770 in Mac Pro, + ATI Radeon for bootscreen purposes. Question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by BlackMonkey, Mar 30, 2014.

  1. BlackMonkey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    #1
    Hi all,
    Just bought the EVGA GeForce GTX 770 4GB Dual w/ ACX Cooler for my early 2008 mac pro. I've done a lot of research on this forum and I'm glad to know that this card will work with proper adapters. I also plan using precision X to regulate it's power supply. My one question though is that I'd like to keep my ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256 MB just for boot screen purposes. Can I have both graphics cards in my mac pro hooked up at the same time?

    Thank you!
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    The 2600XT doesn't require any external power. So yes, you can run both cards in a 3,1 Mac Pro.

    Lou
     
  3. BlackMonkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
  4. brosenz macrumors regular

    brosenz

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #4
    Is Precision X compatible with Mac OS X?
     
  5. BlackMonkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    #5
    hmm good point. No idea. If it's not I definitely need to find an alternative software when I'm on the mac OS
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    ^^^^It's not, but if you set the card's parameters in Windoze, wouldn't the settings hold when you rebooted into OSX?

    Lou
     
  7. BlackMonkey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    #7
    My card is coming Monday so I'll try it out and see if it sticks then
     
  8. mtadilli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Location:
    milan
    #8
    hello
    i would like to know if i can put those graphic cards on a macpro 2010:
    ATI Radeon HD 5770 and NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 2048 MB
    just courious, because i have the ati radeon in a box, so if it's possible my mac will boot again,

    thank you

    Martin
     
  9. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    Is the HD 5770 a Mac Edition?
    What are the max power draws for both cards?
     
  10. mtadilli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Location:
    milan
    #10
    yes the amd is the one that was integrated with the mac pro when i bought it,
    sincerly i don't know the power, but there are both not pug and play,they need to be powered up and attached on a mother board,i was thinking to remove one fan and use that power supply for the second graphic card if works

    thank yuo

    M
     
  11. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    HD 5770 Mac max. 108W (add. power with 1x 6 pin)
    GTX-670 PC max. 180W (add. power with 2x 6 pin)

    So you'll need two 6 pin split Y power cables and connect them with the add. on-mobo power connectors.

    Apple-MiniPCIe-6Pin-to-Standard-Dual-PCIe-Pin-Video-Card-Power-Cable

    See for more info's my post Powering 2 GU's in Mac Pro how I juiced my Nvidia 8800GT Mac & EVGA GTX-670 FTW 4GB in my MP 3.1.

    Good luck
     
  12. mtadilli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Location:
    milan
  13. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #13
    BUT, removing what fan were you talking about? :confused:
     
  14. mtadilli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Location:
    milan
    #14
    a friend of my sad that if you remove the front fan under the power button you will have one extra power for any graphic card that needs to plug it in ...
    i don't know if i'm writing correct, hope you undestand,
    but since you tell me to buy the "Y" cable there will be no more problems abou it, do you have any picture to see how to plug them?

    thank you for your help!

    Martin
     
  15. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #15
    Ahhhh I understand what you mean now :eek: it is correct that the grey fanhouse needs to be removed to access the mobo power connectors.

    Here's a drawing for you.

    [​IMG]

    Good luck.
     
  16. mtadilli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Location:
    milan
    #16
    he he so cool!
    thanks for draw!
    remove the fan could damage any part of the computer for the temperature?
    and also do you think that add an extra graphic card will encrease the performance of my editing workflow?
    i use fcx and davinci and red cameras so 4k and 5k ,
    now with my nvidia is going well but still need some more smoothness,
    i also bought new cpu 2 x 3,33 ghz Xeon x5690 6 core

    im very courious,

    thanks again... bedankt!
     
  17. m4v3r1ck, May 5, 2014
    Last edited: May 5, 2014

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #17
    YMW!!!
    After installing the cables the fan house MUST be placed back! The cables will just work placed underneath the fan house, it was engineered for it!
    You'll have to experience that for yourself, icw your CPU upgrade the GTX+670 2048 will be a good upgrade.
    You processor tray will love those cpu's! What are your current 2 cpu's? BTW the Xeon X5690 6c are 3.46 Ghz!
    Intel-Xeon-Processor-X5690-12M-Cache-3_46-GHz-6_40-GTs-Intel-QPI
    Graag gedaan! Perhaps you could share your other Mac Pro specs with us? Perhaps create a sig?

    Good luck installing your new hardware!
     
  18. mtadilli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Location:
    milan
    #18
    shure!
    as soon i have the complete upgrade i will benchmark it!
    thanks again

    Martin
     
  19. mtadilli macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Location:
    milan
    #19
    my cables are just arrived!!!
    so tonight i will assemble the two graphic cards :)
    for the 2 cpu i have to wait because it's quite a money...anyone knows a cheap website where i can upgrae my cpu?
    i'm looking for a Intel Xeon 6 Core X5690 3.46GHZ SLBVX Processor

    or the 3,33 ghz also is good

    thx

    Martin
     
  20. omvs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #20
    What about a x5675 (3.06GHz)? The turbo modes on this part are actually a step more aggressive than the X5679/X5680/X5690, so really it looks more like a 3.2GHz part. (3-6 cores active you get 3.33GHz turbo, 1-22 active you get 3.47GHz)

    I've been watching ebay for 6 core processors for my single-socket board, and this was considerably cheaper than even the w3670. It also has the 1333MHz ram support, and has a lower TDP, so it might even run cooler.

    -danh
     
  21. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #21
    Can you update us with your progress? What is your purpose for having the GTX, video editing? Have you noticed faster speeds with your new configuration?

    I didn't know that you could run two different GPUs in the same machine. I assumed that dual GPUs had to be identical. I'm curious because I'd like to add another GPU to my MP.

    Thanks for the information.
     

Share This Page