Running hot!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Jason HB, Nov 1, 2013.

  1. Jason HB macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #1
    Wow, my maxed out 15" Macbook Pro Haswell runs really hot when I have Windows 8.1 going.

    I'm guessing it's due to the graphics card not switching and running the entire time.

    Anyone have any tricks to help lower the temp, besides a fan...
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    If you're not already doing so, use iStat Pro (free) or iStat Menus ($16) to get accurate readings of your temps, fan speeds, etc., rather than relying on your sense of touch or sound. A forum member has posted a copy of iStat Pro that has been "tweaked" to enhance compatibility with Mountain Lion. You can download it here.
    The Intel processors used in Macs are designed to automatically shut down to prevent damage if they truly overheat. CPU Tjmax = 105C (221F), GPU Tjmax = 100C (212F) on i3, i5, i7 processors. (Source: Intel)
    Unless there is a rare defect in a Mac, most temps are well within the normal operating range, considering the workload being put on it. Websites with Flash content, games and other multimedia apps will put higher demand on the CPU/GPU, generating more heat. This is normal. If you're constantly putting high demands on your system, such as gaming or other multimedia tasks, expect temps to rise and fans to spin up accordingly. It's just your Mac doing its job to maintain temps within the normal range.
    It is also quite normal for your Mac to become extremely hot to the touch during intensive operations. The aluminum body transfers heat more effectively than other materials used in computer casings, so you will feel the heat more. This doesn't indicate that it's overheating and will not harm the computer to be hot to the touch.
    Your fans are always on when your Mac is on, spinning at a minimum of 2000 rpm (for MBPs) or 1800 rpm (for MBAs, MBs and minis), or 1200 for the newest MBAs. Older iMacs have 3 fans with minimum speeds in the 800-1200 range, while the newest iMacs have a single fan, spinning at a minimum of about 1400 rpm. They will spin faster as needed to keep temps at a safe level. If your fans are spinning up without increased heat, try resetting the SMC. (PRAM/NVRAM has nothing to do with these issues, so resetting it will not help.)
    The intake and exhaust vents are in the back of the computer near the hinge on all Mac notebooks (except the new MBP with retina display, which has intake vents along the sides at the bottom). The iMac vent is a slot on the back near the top of the computer. Make sure the vents remain unblocked to allow your computer to perform at its best. For Flash-related issues:
     
  3. Doward macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    #3
    I'd be very interested to see how the heatsink / compound setup is on the new Haswells.

    This will help immensely, if Apple's not improved their manufacturing yet:


    What are you considering very hot?

    If your system is under 95C then you are doing fine.
     
  4. Moshe1010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
  5. dastinger macrumors 6502a

    dastinger

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #5
    Lol, haven't seen that video in here for a while. Cool, it's back :rolleyes:
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Since you're running windows 8, I believe it only uses the dGPU which increases power consumption and heat. I thought I read somewhere that MBPs run hotter in windows for some reason as well, though I could be wrong on this.
     
  7. TigerMe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #7
    SMC Fan Control

    Download SMC Fan control. It's the first thing I install on every new macbook I get because of heat.

    You can control the fans so you can find a fan setting that is just NOT LOUD enough to bother you but keeps the heat way down.

    Good luck.
     
  8. Jason HB thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #8
    Isn't that for Mac OS though? Is there something similar for Windows?
     
  9. Doward macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    #9
    What temperatures are you seeing?
     
  10. RichardC300 macrumors 65816

    RichardC300

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    #10
    The memory readings on my iStat Pro widget didn't match the Activity Monitor's reading. :(
     
  11. pat.micunnis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #11
    i installed iStat... what do I do next? (I can't find it in the Applications folder or LaunchPad)
     
  12. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #12
    That would be because it is a widget, which is meant to run when dashboard is on.
     

Share This Page